across the universe

09.12.03 @ 11:59 a.m.

Ah summer. Where nothing productive whatsoever happens in my life. And yet, I'm going to enjoy it as long as I can.

And, fuck. I just FINALLY checked my grades and I got a D in Infohell. So I'm going to have to take it again. Damn, damn, damn. DAMN. And in more bad news, John Ritter died suddenly last night? What the hell? And he was doing so well in his comeback. I can't believe that.

Well, I guess later today I'll figure out just what I'm doing with myself after this. And maybe talk about it frankly with my mom. I wonder what the Journalism minor entails, because I think that I'm well on my way to an English major already, so despite my earlier determination to get that journalism degree no matter what, I'm having second thoughts again. Jesus, that was a long sentence.

I don't know. I'm at a loss. Even though I rather expected to get that D. Fuck, fuck, fuck.

ANYWAY.

My intent in logging on this morning was to write a little about The Beatles' Let It Be. I was listening to it this morning. Lazy summer days... I spent a surprising amount of time lying in bed listening to bits of Sgt. Pepper, Yellow Submarine Song Track, and of course, Let It Be. Listening to "It's All Too Much" on Yellow Submarine made me sad all over again, because I bought that CD the day I found out that George Harrison had died and it was such a fitting song for the day. It's one of those songs that still has the power to move me even after all this time. It's so beautiful. I just adore George and his Beatles work. Then I listened to the Rufus Wainwright version of "Across the Universe" and the Beatles' original. And it occurs to me that Let It Be would probably be a superior album if they hadn't let Phil Spector through the door. I even considered breaking out the copies of the Beatles Anthology CDs that I nicked from my brother to listen to a version of "I Me Mine" WITHOUT the swelling string section in the background. Instead I just listened to the rest of the album and got up to check my email and so on. And now I'm here, finally writing what I was thinking about. I also prefer the Rufus Wainwright "Across the Universe" and I can't decide if it's because he has such a beautiful voice (deep and smooth like Nesmith's) or if it's the austerity of the music in the background. Or a little of both. I think for now I'll vote for both.

Ugh. Netscape crashed again, even though I got a new version of Netscape up and running. I blame this computer. It never crashes on OS X, not really. Sometimes it freezes, but that happens with any browser I use, it seems. It's all a tremendous pain. But this time, the window went all wonky first and I had the presence of mind to select all and copy what I'd already written. Very lucky.

Now Perry Mason is on, or as Martha calls it, "[my] family's crack."

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top