rule britannia

08.30.03 @ 9:02 p.m.

I'm so annoyed because the whole reason I went out today was because I was ABSOLUTELY SURE that the copy of The Rutles: All You Need is Cash I had on reserve at the library would be in by now. It wasn't. Sooo, we went to Target and bought a big full length mirror and some silverware for the Eugene house and, uh, some cookies. Pepperidge Farm is now making mini-versions of a bunch of their cookies! Tiny Chessmen and Milanos! Oh my my. I got the Chessmen, myself. I love shortbread. Oh, and I also bought a wide-slot toaster. We also went to Fred Meyer because my grandma wanted to go there and Mom said she saw a retro-looking wall clock on sale, and I've been trying to get a wall clock for the living room in Eugene. Mom and I found the clock and bought some smaller curtain hooks because the ones we bought for the curtains I made (man, am I proud of those) were waaay too big. Mom went to go do some more shopping on her own and I went to the little Starbucks in the Fred Meyer deli. (There's a Starbucks in the FM Deli AND a full size Starbucks leasing it's own space in the same building. Welcome to the Northwest--You're never more than a hundred yards from a Starbucks.) I got a Tea Lemonade, but they kind of forgot to put the lemonade in it. So I had to have them remake it because I sure as hell am not going to pay all that extra money for a plain cold tea.

Some confusion ensued when Mom and I both thought we were going to get the rubber gloves for next time I dye my hair (should be this week, I think. New, darker dye and a lack of conditioner in my hair will hopefully be the recipe for success!) and we both ended up buying them. But I ended up buying vinyl gloves, which were way less expensive. So Mom'll return the ones she got or give them to Dad. I also couldn't resist buying a giant book of Logic Problems. How geeky am I that I completely love doing logic problems? They're great. Probably not that geeky, really, but eh.

My parents went to see Seabiscuit today, which I think means I made good my escape. After my dad and all his shit getting entangled with his strange worship of that book made me want to resist it with all my power.

Monty Python palooza. I'm going through all my MP tapes and am quite happy with it. This is sparked by the little bit of The Rutles that I saw and the fact that I just finished reading The Road to Mars by Eric Idle. I had forgotten that one of my all time favorite sketches (Errol the flying sheep!!!) was on the first tape. And Italian for Italians reminds me that I need to review my Italian for the start of the school year. I'll have lots of time now that my job is over (cue dancing in the streets). I'm so glad I won't be getting up before six every day. Though I overslept today and have been suffering the consequences all day. It's only 9 and I really want to go to sleep. But I shan't. More than 8 or 9 hours of sleep screw me up.

Now I'm going to go watch Britcoms (or a bit of Monty Python, tee hee) and do British logic problems and generally be a giant pretentious anglophile.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top