parvardigar

08.28.03 @ 6:04 p.m.

One more day of work. I think I need to keep telling myself this. I don't think I'd mind work so much if it weren't so hot and dirty all the time. I was clipping blackberries in the baking, frying, broiling hot sun all morning, slowly reducing the amount of shade I had because I had to get any branches or vines out of the bike path. So I feel sunburned. And my hand hurts from the stupid clippers. Yeah, yeah, all I do is bitch. Watering plants with the hose wasn't hard, but it was dirty because wet bark dust sticks to EVERYTHING. Fuck that.

I talked to Slavik last night, which was really fun. And I (belatedly, I had to remind him what my email address is) got the mass email he sent out. He's like a lost little puppy in New York. It's so sweet and the fact that he's insecure makes him kind of loveable. He's totally scared. I'm surprised, because he always seemed so eager to go to New York, where he could 'wear his scarf in the winter without people calling [him] gay.' That's what he gets for living in such a cow-town like Corvallis, though. I mean, my second term of college I sat behind a guy in Phil 102 who was knitting a scarf. He was wearing it at the same time, and when the professor roamed the aisles, he'd shove the knitting needles in his coat so she wouldn't see. She was a dragon of a woman and instilled a bit of hate for philosophy in me. And yet, I'm so, so curious about a lot of things, especially after reading Pete's biography. Which, I shudder to admit, I never finished. It had to go back to the library (I had it for two and a half months or more! Three renewals!) and so I stopped with the author stealing Pete's tapes of Tommy. But still, I find things like Pete's writing that drug users are just spiritually adrift interesting. What does that say about my own straight-edge nature? Am I spiritually strong enough alone to not desire those things? Or is it something else? Too many questions, no answers, at least not at this time.

I got Quadrophenia (the movie) from the library today, and with any luck I'll watch it with Martha this week, who genuinely wants to see it. Says she wanted to see it for probably longer than I've been into the Who. And I believe her. (There are some who might make such a statement and I'd doubt them. Yay. And in a couple of days I'll have a copy of The Rutles to watch. It's being shipped from another library to my preferred pick up library. *sigh* But I have The Road To Mars to read, so I'll have lots to fill my current need to be entertained by Eric Idle. I think I'll also watch some Python today. I love Monty Python. I'm going to go back in time and marry Michael Palin. (Just like I'm going to go back and marry Michael Nesmith (though I'm having second thoughts there--hot yes, but fucking crazy at times) and Pete Townshend (ditto on the 'fucking crazy').) A lot of time is passing at work by me working out pathetic fanfic-y storylines. I've got this girl who's been kind of emotionally scrambled by her involvement with a Jimmy Cooper-type named Charlie. Only when he cast himself off the cliffs at Brighton, he went into a coma. Two years later, he woke up, forgot that he even attempted suicide, let alone that one of the things that sparked it was the girl's rejection (so not ready to marry at sixteen or seventeen) of his proposal and eventual breakup with him because he gets, well, a bit Quadrophenic. So he talks about wanting to go to California with her (because she's too nice to refuse when his mother asks her to come see him since he woke up) and then dies before he even can leave the hospital. So she goes out of guilt and a sense of obligation. And then she gets mixed up in Monterey Pop. Hah hah. Aahh, I'm a huge dork. But it serves to entertain me while I'm mindlessly cleaning.

(Title track from Who Came First by Pete Townshend. Not that I own this album, I'm just listening to this song off a Meher Baba page. Oh man, I want this album so much.)

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top