dedicated friend

08.24.03 @ 11:04 a.m.

I'm semi-giddy because I'm watching all the episodes of Conan I taped last week and I just saw an appearance by Everclear from back in April. They were singing "New York Times" and I suddenly realized that I heard this song back in October, live, when I went to go see President Clinton speak at Mac Court and Art Alexakis (I cannot spell this man's name) opened for him. The song is about girls going missing, possibly Ashley Pond and Miranda Gaddis. See, Art lives in Portland (local boy!) so there was no way he could have escaped all that news coverage. I only escaped the all day coverage when they discovered the bodies because I was in Los Angeles at the time.

Last night was actually cooler than I expected, though I am immensely disappointed that Seth and Oliver weren't there. It was actually more of a gathering of my own close friends and was more of a sedate dinner party than anything else. I'm getting old without even having gone through a racous party stage. Man. Actually, it was quite nice to see a few people I haven't seen since graduation, namely Austin, who I went to elementary school with, and Adrianne, who I didn't really get to know until high school, but I probably knew her in junior high. Martha was there, Andrew was there for a little while... Moni and Paige and Amy. I found it hilarious when Martha almost made a mocking comment of Amy while Amy was right there and caught herself. Less gracefully, I almost dissed the people who went to my elementary school that lived in the trailer park rather than the farms that most of us lived on. Er. Amy's family still lives in the trailer park and I just never finished my sentence. Luckily you can get away with that with my friends most of the time because someone cuts in with their own story. I only expected to be there for an hour or two but we were there for maybe five hours. It was good, much better than I could have ever expected.

Today I'm supposed to go to Belle's, but she never emailed me directions. Actually, there's a voice mail I should listen to that came yesterday just before I left for the party. I still haven't listened to it.

Slavik's in New York and he's on AIM. I want to ask him questions, but he's gone idle and I don't want to be, you know, harassing him. *sigh*

(Title track from Loose Salute by Michael Nesmith)

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top