norwegian wood

08.11.03 @ 9:32 p.m.

That last one was depressing enough that even though I don't feel I have much to write, I'm going to write anyway, just to show that I'm not still feeling all dark, dreary, and overcome with angst.

Really, I'm not.

Work is ever boring, with me spending yet another day outside scraping up bits of hacked up hedge from outside one of the local elementary schools. I wore sunscreen, though, so I'm not burned even worse.

I am, however, mildy annoyed that my hair is fading to orange again ALREADY. I think I need to go buy a darker red and not condition my hair for a while before redying it. Though that might not be until, oh, around the time I go back to Eugene or the White Stripes concert, whichever comes first.

Jo, the 'best friend' I haven't seen in a year, came down to chat today. She actually spent most of her time talking to my mom, I think. Whatever. We have tentative plans to go see Pirates because I'm becoming rapidly obsessed with Captain Jack Sparrow. Haha, not really obsessed, but I do think he's wonderful. Lately I've been enjoying the mental image brought forth by a quote from Johnny Depp about wishing he could see all the characters he's played in the same room. It was nice to talk to Jo and I gave her a copy of a favorite Dirk Pitt novel of ours.

There's something I wanted to say and now I've forgotten.... OH! I'll write about the weird-ass dream I had last night.

I was dreaming that I was in our kitchen and we had a bear trapped in the bathroom. It was like we were keeping it there. It was a bear from the zoo and (in twisted dream-logic) could therefore talk, but it was just a bear so it was pretty stupid. He kept trying to escape and I kept trying to talk to him and reason with him. At one point I lured him into the shower and shut the door. I was really proud of myself until he just slid the door open again and asked, "What the hell?" He gave me a 'You really thought that would work?' look. Finally I let him out into the back yard and a giant rabbit (like the size of a VW Beetle) hopped out of the blackberry bushes. The bear realized this was his mother and morphed into a giant rabbit himself (apparently he was only half bear) and they hopped away together. I went back into my kitchen and Roger Daltrey (circa 1967-8, with his poofy but not curly hair) came in wearing a suit that was very late 19th century. He was studiously ignoring me, which was really annoying and I tried to get his attention. Instead, he had this photo album that he said he was borrowing from my dad (he called my dad Jim, which is in fact his name) and said it had pictures of all the German Shepherd Grand Victors in history. There was a picture of a very elegant looking woman in a tan coat and Roger turned to my sister, who was wearing the same coat. "That's your mother," he said. "You look just like her, especially in that coat." I think I tried to talk to Roger some more, but he kept ignoring me and I eventually woke up.

(Title track by the Beatles, from either Rubber Soul or Revolver, I forget which. Don't bother to correct me, I'll look it up later.)

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top