the dirty jobs

08.08.03 @ 9:01 p.m.

Friday. Thank god. Actually, today was kind of cool. Juan and Servando (I may have written a different name earlier as today was the first day I really listened and TRIED to remember his name) kept telling us that since we worked hard all week we should take it easy today. Take long breaks. Don't get up, take ten more minutes.

Um, okay. I won't argue with that.

Not that the day started so fantastically. We had unexpected torrential rain this morning staring at about three a.m. I mean loud rain, persistant rain, rain that had a purpose and was not to be dissuaded. I actually silently hoped it would continue so they'd give us an inside job for once. I gave that up once I got to work and they started handing out rain gear. But by the time we got to the school we were at yesterday it had stopped and we finished our last job there. Then we got to drive to the dump and it started pouring again. I got really wet at the dump trying to get all the proper doors on the dump truck open so we could get rid of the yard debris, but coworker Jason (whom I really want to start calling either Heavy Metal Jason or just Metal Jason) said "I'm borrowing your gloves, okay?" because his were behind the seat. So my hands got all wet and cold. Bastard. We went to another school for the rest of the day and the rain stopped and eventually the skies cleared and it was actually quite hot out by the time we left. I'm a massive sunburn. Actually (and this is HORRIBLE), I have some kind of weird blisters on the top of my left ear. I think it's from an EXTREMELY bad burn, though I can't figure out why that particular spot on my body would get so much intense sun and nowhere else. But it stings like hell. The other cool thing was that for once my day did not consist soley of shovelling and lifting. I got to use the gas edger all morning, which mostly consisted of me pushing the edger around convinced I was going to start a grassfire (those things spark on the pavement and J & S kept telling me that I'd know I was doing it right if I heard the blade grinding on the cement) and narrating in my head. I've come to realize that I have a tendency to talk to myself (silently, I'm not completely insane) about whatever I'm doing like I'm narrating a story. That, and holding imaginary future conversations, which I've done ever since I was a little kid. I remember one time that I was so caught up in my own thoughts that I started speaking out loud and kind of freaked my mom out a little.

Ow. Scratching sunburns = not particularly smart.

Yesterday I bought a new pair of Converse All-Stars (this time in red) at GI Joes for the low low price of $26. The price compelled me to make the purchase. It couldn't be helped. I found out about the sale when I stopped there with Martha the other day on the way to Andrew's to watch a movie. She bought a new pair of navy All-Stars and the price was even lower than she had expected. And so, with a triumphant cry of "Take that, Shoe Pavillion!" we left the store. But I went back yesterday with Mom and also bought a couple more baseball shirts since they were on sale as well.

[The title track is from the Who's Quadrophenia --

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top