expecting

07.21.03 @ 10:55 a.m.

I'm listening to my tape of White Blood Cells at moderately high volume (it kind of sucks because I made the tape off the file sharing on iTunes and I thought I had the whole album because I looked at two people and they had the same number of tracks... one cut "Fell In Love With a Girl" and the other cut "Aluminum," so I had to put "Girl" on the end after, uh, Elephant, I think) and am being very pleased with myself indeed.

September 17th. The White Stripes at the Keller auditorium (formerly the Portland Opera House). Me in Row R. Fuck yeah. The Yeah Yeah Yeahs and the Soledad Brothers are opening. It was fun, actually, going to get tickets. Well, not as fun as getting McCartney tickets where everyone was friendly and chatting because we were waiting for over an hour, but still kind of cool. I wandered around Safeway for a little while and realized the big dude reading the paper earlier was leaning casually against the ticket counter about twenty minutes before they went on sale. So I lingered nearby, figuring a two person line was kind of silly if no on else was going to show up. Luckily, I was perusing prepaid cell phones and was standing right next to the guy when two guys came up chatting to one another about how jazzed they were to get 'Stripes tickets', so the line formed behind me. Being second in line is cool, nearly as cool as being first.

I have to admit, I could have been closer to the stage if I had bought the tickets online a couple of nights ago BUT it would have cost more AND I don't trust the postal service. I never got my Pete Townshend book (Lifehouse) and my mom is adamant that she did not lose it, but I'm pretty certain she did. But my sister's christmas gifts to our family never arrived either, so yeah. I have no faith in the USPS. But Row G and Row R. It's not that big a difference when I'm still in the Orchestra section. And it is possible to be too close when you can't see over the edge of the stage.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top