psychoderelict

07.14.03 @ 11:09 p.m.

I'm so so so so so HAPPY right now. And a little part of that happiness comes from the fact that I can be filled with mindless inarticulate joy by something as simple as picking up a used Townshend album on the cheap. So far, Psychoderelict is amazingly wonderful. Okay, I'm only on, er, the third track. But oooh, man. I'm loving it, loving it more than Lifehouse Elements which is kind of sad when you consider how much I've focused on the whole Lifehouse thing lately. I like the old, abandoned Who bits of Lifehouse, which is to say the Who's Next album and some stuff on Odds & Sods.

The Townshend-love knows no bounds right now. Heh heh. Say what you will about scandal (I'll likely ignore you) and the fact that he was a sarcastic, cynical bastard, and the drugs and... well, all the less savory aspects of a rock star's personality, Pete Townshend was (is) a fucking genius. And I don't think I'll ever think otherwise. I adore him, more than any other rock star I think I've ever adored before.

Eh? EH? There are bits of the Lifehouse plot popping up here with the synthesizer track to "Won't Get Fooled Again." Weird. The Grid and whatnot. God, I wish I had that Lifehouse script, but I have to go to Beaverton's Powell's Books to get it, and I haven't been out that way in a while.

The reason I got Psychoderelict is that I finally went driving with Dad. It wasn't much different than going driving with Mom, which I didn't expect, except he bitched a bit about the clutch, which I did expect, actually. Anyway, afterwards he just wanted to be 'out' and shop and just DO something. So we tried to go to the tried and true used CD store, Turn Around Sound (I like their old name, Disc-Go-Round, better), but it closed at 8 and it was a quarter to nine. We went to the Wherehouse and there were actually a few used Townshend albums there. Lifehouse Elements, which I already have from the library, and Iron Man was only $3 but I *ashamed to admit it* didn't want it. Psychoderelict was beckoning to me. They didn't even have copies of Who By Numbers or even Who Are You.

(More bits of Lifehouse... I am fascinated.)

I feel like I've been writing forever and in some ways I have because I keep deleting stuff I have written. Not much, but just little bits. I don't have much to say today, I guess, except singing the inarticulate praises of Townshend.

When I was reviewing Sid & Nancy, did I mention Andrew's dad's disturbing knowledge of drugs? He made this worldly-wise, knowing commentary, saying things like "Oh, Methadone's just a pink liquid, you know." Eh? Um, thank you. I will remember that. Yeah.

I can't write anymore. The CD is distracting and... maybe I don't have anything to say at all.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top