the kids are alright

07.13.03 @ 1:20 a.m.

Quote of the Day: "It's blatant, proud, and, dare I say it, sassy." (Pete Townshend on "Anyway, Anyhow, Anywhere.")

I've had quite a lovely day. At about one this afternoon, Andrew and Martha came to pick me up and I spent about ten hours watching movies at Andrew's house. So here you'll have a whole passel of movie reviews.

Strictly Ballroom: Directed by Baz, er, Luhrman? I can't spell it. The fella who directed Moulin Rouge... and it was quite obvious to me, once I had been told - much use of red curtains is mostly what reminded me, and some crazy dream sequences. I really liked it, even though eventually it was a little predictable. Clearly an ugly duckling story, but it had some nice twists. And hey, who doesn't like Australians? Liz and Tina Sparkle have quite... amazing hair. And Scott looks amazingly like Guy Pearce. It was hard for me to think of him as NOT being Guy Pearce. He looks EXACTLY like Guy looked as Adam/Felicia in The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert. And apparently the guy who played Bob in Priscilla (Man, I love that movie - Guy Pearce and Hugo Weaving AND Terence Stamp as wandering Australian drag queens; how can you go wrong?) was the head of the Dance Federation in this. The voice was the same, but I don't know if I would have guessed without being told. I have to admit that I rather like romantic comedies, and I thought this one was good AND funny, though whether or not the things we found funny were the things that were supposed to be funny. I recommend this one and may even find myself renting it again to get my mom to watch it.

Stiff Upper Lips: I saw this about three years ago on Masterpiece Theater and loved it back then. So did Martha. We rented it to make Andrew watch it. It's a parody of all PBS/Merchant Ivory/BBC/Masterpiece Theater dramas. It's fucking hilarious is what it is, if you have any familiarity with approximately Victorian costume drama and even if you don't. It's quite good. I have a copy of it somewhere within the stacks and stacks of videotapes that clutter up this house. And I kind of think George the villager/butler is cute. After he gets his hair cut.

So I Married An Ax Murderer: Someone told me this was a good movie. They lied.

Sid & Nancy: This is what I really wanted to talk about. I fucking loved this movie. And am now worshipful of Gary Oldman. Actually, I didn't love all aspects of this movie, mostly just Gary Oldman. Nancy was annoying, always screeching, and Johnny Rotten looked nothing like actual Johnny Rotten. And I really like actual Johnny Rotten. The slightly odd thing was watching the movie with Andrew's Dad, who kept talking about how fucked up Sid was. And Andrew's mom got home midway through the movie and chattering through a lot of the middle. Grr. Actually, Andrew's parents are pretty hip for old hippies. Seriously, Andrew's babysitters used to be women who'd go out and dance naked in the trees. Etc. Andrew's dad wants to be very pal-y with his sons' friends, though this may have something to do with the fact that nearly all Andrew's friends are girls. All his guy friends (well, not all, just most) are gay and Andrew hasn't really come out to his parents. I digress. Gary Oldman rocks, that's mostly what I came away thinking. And Martha and I thought it was interesting that that they chose to go with the slightly warmer and fuzzier ending rather than showing Sid overdosing after Nancy's death. Sid was a crap bass player, but quite a personality.

I think Martha and I are very lightly considering the idea of a road trip down to San Francisco to see the reunited Sex Pistols, though I am a little cowardly when it comes to the anticipated audience of a Sex Pistols show. We are not the expected audience, you see. Classic Rock junkies, uh, we don't really belong at a true punk show. But it could be very fun indeed. But it probably wouldn't happen. Shame, eh?

Andrew's house also included organic sodas (raspberry!), ice cream sandwiches, offered salmon and mini burritos which I didn't partake of (and they were offered separately, together they sound totally gross), and bad TV movies after Sid & Nancy ended. Martha and I hinted to Andrew that we wanted to go home (he'd picked both of us up in his car) during Mad TV. Martha felt like taking a drive and went to my house with Andrew. I live way far away from them and they live quite close to one another, considering the extremely rural area in which they live. And I say that as a farm girl myself. And there was lots and lots of conversation. Those two are some of my favorite people in the entire world, and I had a GREAT day.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top