keep on working

07.05.03 @ 8:40 p.m.

Well, here's a hell of a thing. I found out today that my mom seriously considered trying to write pulp romance novels as a sideline early in my parents' marriage. I had no idea. Can you just imagine? I think Dad has no idea that my NaNovel was a Regency. I'm kind of trying to edit it and do a rewrite lately. It's at least something vaguely productive.

This came up because lately I'm unabashedly reading Zebra Regency Romances. This is like the summer of no serious reading. All frivolity all the time, that's my motto! Haha. Seriously, I have about ten of them in a stack waiting to be read. I'm reading a new one right now, DeLacey's Angel, even though I got Possession from the library and I'm fairly eager to read it. I figured I'd plow through some real fluff first. I've also been neglecting Pete's biography, sadly. I don't know why I'm reluctant to dive in. Especially when I found flipping through the Meher Baba stuff a week ago so very interesting. Too many trips to bookstores and the library have left me scattered book-wise. I have about ten things I want to read at once, and since I can't decide, I pick up a random romance novel and read it in a couple of evenings. If that much.

I'm typing while trying to let some pages load up but they don't want to cooperate. Martha sent me what I think is a picture of Gary Oldman in drag (I can't think who else it would be since she's currently obsessing on G.O.) and I want to find a similar picture of Keith Moon that I know exists. Actually, I'd be happy with the photo in the tray of the expanded version of Who's Next, and if it gets to be too much of a hassle finding this online, I'll scan the tray.

I went out with Martha this morning to GI Joes to buy baseball shirts for projects. I got one with navy blue sleeves I'm going to decorate with a big Mod target on the chest and a green one just to wear for the hell of it. While we were there, I spotted an armband in the team sports section that said "Captain" on it. I grabbed it and showed it to Martha because I thought it would be cool if someone just wore it for no good reason. (What am I saying, there's a perfectly good reason... anyone wearing it is the Captain! What they're captain of is of secondary importance.) Just walking around town wearing an armband that declared you to be the Captain. Awesome, no? Martha bought one. She's braver than I. Though someday I might get brave myself (hell, it WAS my idea) and just randomly wear one to class or something. Heehee. But I'd get the one with red stripes I think. I showed her one with black stripes and she bought one with blue. They were only $2. It was great. I told her she should wear it when we all go to the beach in August.

I got to go to two different libraries today (the second one was to get Possession, the first was to get a Ramones CD I had put on reserve, but it's badly scratched, like most library CDs) which was cool and I picked up a stack of stuff from the Paperback exchange (source of all my romance novels... why not indulge when it's free and there's no time limit, eh?). My parents, my grandmother, and I all went out to dinner tonight, too. That... could have been better but wasn't horrible. We went to my favorite restaurant, Skyline Drive In, but service was sub-par today and they forgot to give me the coke I ordered. It was kind of disappointing. But oh! I just remembered that I made killer guacamole today and I can eat that right now. MMM!

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top