born in the u.s.a

07.05.03 @ 12:09 a.m.

I totally reek. I stink of fireworks and gunpowder in general.

Another successful Ellen-produced family fireworks show, in other words.

This year we got TNT fireworks, as usual. (As if there were another brand?) There's a total fireworks monopoly, at least in Oregon where fireworks are limited by law to crappy 'safe' ones. I still almost severely burned myself by not lighting a ground bloom in my hand and trying to toss it away. Another time I was lighting a ground bloom (my dad just had to have a packet of them, you know) and I had lit one... I was trying to get two going at once and the second one wouldn't light. Dad goes "Look out for the other one!" and I jump up where I can see the firework... What do I hear him mutter to Mom, chucking? "Didja see her jump! Hahaha!"

Ha. Ha. Ha.

Anyway. We got a huge, huge pack of fireworks from Costco, a $40 pack. (Not the $100 or $200 ones they had, but a big one none the less.) And we blew them all to hell! Happy birthday, America! Woo. I think blowing small things up is the only aspect of patriotism I'm really happy about lately.

Today was really laid back with Mom and I. Dad was mostly gone to the Blues Festival again and when he got back he was kind of bitchy about how long it was taking me to get the fireworks stuff all together. I got up, I took a shower (eventually--I spent a LONG time in my pajamas, actually) after eating lunch and watching Perry Mason with Mom. Both episodes were ones I had already seen. I was actually kind of glad to watch the one with the imaginary baby and the delusional wife again. That one was cool. Otherwise, I played computer for a while, listened to music quite loud, and went down to hang out with Mom. She, very obligingly, went out for pizza and I took the magnets off one side of our fridge (which is an endeavor in itself--I used to collect magnets as a kid, so there's like, no visible surface to our fridge) while she was out. We watched a little bit of Pride and Prejudice while we ate and then we watched Frida.

Wow. That was one incredible movie. It was so great. I do have to wonder if Salma met Edward Norton on the set or if he got a cameo because he's her boyfriend. It's how he got on SNL last season! But it was beautiful. Julie Taymor does great work. I'm thinking of making my parents watch Titus, but it's hugely violent. One of my favorite Shakespeare plays (thank you again, Ben Saunders!), but really violent. Absurdly so.

Tomorrow is another outing with Martha, but mostly it's a swap arrangement. I have a CD to give back to her, a CD I made her, Harry Potter to lend, and she wants to look over my collection for her album reviews for one of her classes. She's got a poster to give to me. (Yay! 40 Licks poster!) Oh, and I'm cutting a Paul Simonon thing out of the current Fender guitar catalog to give her. And cutting out a photo of Pete and a Shag Art poster for me!

I want to go to bed and I should go now if I plan to read a bit before actually sleeping. Besides, I have to get up early enough to shower (I really, really stink of fireworks. I can hardly stand to be around myself) and everything before Martha calls at noon tomorrow.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top