harry potter

06.29.03 @ 5:07 p.m.

Wow. Okay. So, guess who just finished Harry Potter? My dad, being thick, (see, I'm still in a state of faux british) did not notice that I spent the last 90 pages wiping my eyes and sniffling. I'm going to try not to give anything away, but you've been duly warned, dig? Don't worry, I'll restrain myself from writing anything non-Potter anyway.

So, when IT happened, I wasn't that shocked or that upset. I didn't start to cry (and I cry so easily at books and rarely, movies) until Harry was raging in the aftermath.

I was a little annoyed that I spent the whole book chasing down false leads. Well, convinced that everything was a dire hint of things to come.

I agree a lot with Liz, who's entry "TNT" gives her initial reactions to the book and give away IT, so be warned. Sirius erratic and frankly a bit irresponsible behavior began to annoy me. Am I detatched from the series to think that it's not really in character for him? But I know as a writer that characters can take you up for a merry ride that you never really thought you'd go on. Personality quirks can snowball.

Anyway. Harry's a bit annoying as a teen, and at times I thought the stuff with Cho almost made up for all the frustration that I felt against Umbridge. (What a terribly accurate name...)

Well. I should go. I don't think I have much to say that's articulate, but I'd be happy to discuss the book via my email, dailynightlyATdiarylandDOTcom.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top