the kids are alright

06.12.03 @ 5:25 p.m.

I am awash in the Who. I finally watched The Kids Are Alright, you see. It was delightful. Wonderful. I am at a loss for words when it comes to really describing how it felt to see so much Who in 99 minutes (though I must admit I kept rewinding certain bits, so I'm sure it was a bit longer.)

Ooooh, the clip of "A Quick One While He's Away" was staggering. Mind-blowing. It looks like my dad and I are going to have to find a copy of The Rolling Stones Rock and Roll Circus on DVD so I can see the whole thing. Pete did a surprising amount of booty-shakin' at the camera, particularly during "Baba O'Riley." I was very amused. I also knew I had seen less than a minute of the movie once while channel surfing past VH1 before I was a fan. The bit I had seen was the "Cobwebs and Strange" thing with the box. The "bowling" line from the Smothers Brothers performance was priceless. All their interview bits from that were great. "I'm Keith, well, my friends call me Keith. You can call me John."

The notebook I had with me says this: "How hard it is not to shout "AAAGH! PETE!" in the quiet library reserve room. Oh lord. Lookit Pete shakin' it." This was during "Baba O'Riley." I have to say, that later footage has Pete all over the place, but he doesn't seem to have the same impassioned intensity to me. Or maybe I'm projecting something from my own imagination. Too much time looking at Pete glowering out of the Union Jack photo. I also wanted to make some kind of noise or comment during "Shout and Shimmy." A) Roger totally wanted to be a white James Brown. B) Oh my lord, look at Pete dancing. I mean, it wasn't out of control "Baba O'Riley"/"Won't Get Fooled Again" all over the stage stuff, just an adorable half-assed attempt at the Twist.

Okay, what is the deal with that big gypsy-style earring during the interview where Keith rips Pete's shirt? Seriously.

Also loved: Pete putting on mascara; Roger wiping his mouth after getting a big wet smack from Keith; the Happy Jack video; and... well. Just about everything really.

After all that discussion with Saunders, I found myself concentrating mostly on Moon and the changes in the quality of his performance. "Barbara-Ann" just kind of made me sad.

Hmm. I think I need to listen to my copy of A Quick One for the millionth time. And I must get a copy of the TKAA soundtrack someday.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top