the punk and the godfather

05.19.03 @ 5:12 p.m.

Today is all right. But first:


thank you to thewho.net

A very happy birthday to Pete Townshend. You're my hero, Pete. Brilliance and creativity and... I am everlastingly in awe of you.

And some mention must be made of last night's Beatleriffic Simpsons episode. My god. That was... words do not describe my glee at some of those jokes. Especially, given my old Monkees affinity, the "Last Train to Clarksville" crack. And, well, everything. And how perfect for Ned... they were bigger than Jesus. Not that it's the first time the Simpsons has played up that line. (See: "The Be-Sharps")

So. We've got out house, it seems. I'm kind of worried about the money and like my dad, I think we should get a third roommate for at least for the first term. Plus we don't have furniture, but we're getting some from E*'s friend Roxy. I really think we should let Patricia live with us. But I guess we can't really do that now. I don't really know what's going on financially.

I got my paper written last night in fairly good time, all things considered. Now I just need to do a little more organizing on my project and maybe write some annotations up tonight. It's such a relief to not have to go to lecture anymore, which let us meet with the landlord this afternoon. Of course, I asked E* if I was going to need my wallet or checkbook, and she said "Why would you?" See, I had no idea what's going on because she's been the one phoning him.

So I have a new source of stress. Hurrah. Just what I need at this juncture in my life. I really really wish I could afford to go rent Tommy tonight but then I'd get no work done at all. Tommorow will be, I'm sure, another day spent at the library as yesterday was.

Slavik and I talked just a little while ago, which was kind of a relief. I mean, it doesn't seem like he's avoiding me. And he went away and IM'd me to tell me he had returned, which he didn't really have to do. So that's a de-stressor.

BUT-- I will admit that I cherished some fantasies of seeing Who Boy again (fittingly, being Pete's birthday and I am wearing my Maxium R&B shirt) or even Prof. Saunders. Someone who appreciates the Who.

C'est la vie. Oh, speaking of foreign languages, we had hot-Italian GTF substituting today. He's kind of funny and spent the last couple of minutes of class telling us in rapid-fire Italian about how dangerous it is to drive in Italy. Good times. And of course, the little Quadrophenia-Mod bell goes off in my head every time we start talking about Vespas. Hee.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top