pictures of lily

05.07.03 @ 10:37 a.m.

I'm probably a bit of a hypocrite, what with all yesterday's ranting. I like to think that one of the reasons it all bothers me is that I think I'm rather aware of symbolism in modern culture and the ways that the way you act and dress defines what category you ally yourself with. The irony of this is that I usually feel like I don't have a category despite my vague moves toward hipster-punk. And I also would like to think that any outward changes reflect earlier, internal changes. So while I adore every Clash song I've heard so far, I'm not going to run out, buy a black denim jacket and sew a great big patch on the back (despite the jokes that Martha and I have made to that effect, though it's mostly Martha). That's not me and I know it. I, instead, proclaim my classic rock affinities and simply have a small, red "The Clash" button on my backpack. Unobtruive, overshadowed by the Who patch and the Beatles patch. Sharing space with the Rolling Stones, John Lennon, and other buttons.

I don't think I try to be something I'm not, even if I'm willing to adopt certain cultural symbols. I worry a very little that I'm starting to step on Martha's territory, but a) I'm aware that I might be doing so and b) I think it's a reflection of a minor revolution in my tastes. It just happens that they're similar to Martha's. This is where the fears of major hypocracy creep in. What if I'm bitching to Martha about something I could very well be doing to her? I suppose I'm glad our more recent musical alignment has been discovered accidentally (via my Rock History class and suddenly increased knowledge) and has been facilitated by the mutual exchange of music.

Well. This rumination means I get to run to class with wet hair. Whoops.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top