...rushing on my run...

05.05.03 @ 1:37 p.m.

If you don't know by now, I am only a few short steps away from being truly straight-edge. Not that I particularly want to take those steps, but I have no desire for drugs and alcohol. Fear not, I'm not going to get preachy here. I don't care if other people choose to abuse the hell out of anything they want, I've just never felt that urge. And happily, all my close friends are the same way, so no peer pressure there.

What brings this up was that Martha and Andrew, two of my dearest friends, were talking about who they'd smoke pot with if they smoked. They decided they wouldn't want to get high with their friends that actually do smoke pot, but they would with each other if they weren't pretty much straight edge. And me. I'm utterly shocked. And terribly amused.

Okay, so now it's nearly 3 because I went to class and have come back. (It is probably not good when you sneeze and your arms start hurting, huh?)

One of the things this all reminds me of is how until I actually said "I'm practically straight edge" to Slavik, he used to drop little hints about smoking. I probably would have let him go on and on (being mildly bewildered by it myself) except that he actually out and out asked me if I've been smoking in Eugene. That's when I told him, and since then he hasn't mentioned it. I have to wonder if he thinks he offended me. He didn't. Or maybe he just assumes that he should shut up because I don't care. Dunno.

One thing I noticed today is that it's impossible to walk down the street with the Clash blasting in your ears and not feel like a total badass.

I'm tired now and I can't think of anything clever to say. I'm going through a minorly embarassing social anxiety issue right now and I think I'm going to have to make a doctor's appointment, and I don't know how I'm going to handle that. Whine at my mom, probably.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top