ch-ch-ch-chip and dale, rescue rangers

05.04.03 @ 12:11 a.m.

I have a ton of stuff I wrote in a little notebook from when I was at the mall this afternoon, but first:

I went to nineties cartoon night tonight. I've already forgotten what all we watched, but it included:

-Tale Spin: I used to love this show, what with Kit, Baloo, Wildcat, and King Lou and all the others whose name I can't remember. Kit and his airfoil. Louie's bar. Oh, and Shere Khan! Mainly I can just never remember the girl's name.

-Animaniacs: MAH! This is one of my favorite shows EVER. (And I'm not at all biased by the fact that I remember the Woodstock "Who's on First" with a funky animated Roger Daltrey and Slappy Squirrel, despite the fact that I had no concept of who the Who were at the time... oh no.) I had totally forgot that Wacko had the liverpudlian accent. He's scouse! Aaagh! It's so cute, I'm overusing exclaimation points! It's almost a shame that we focused so heavily on the Warners. I miss Good Idea, Bad Idea, Chicken Boo, Buttons and Mindy, Goodfeathers, etc. etc. Go figure that the only channels showing Animaniacs aren't channels I get. Tress MacNeille does voices for EVERYTHING! She's Dot Warner, Babs Bunny, AND Gadget the Rescue Ranger. Plus she was a guest voice in the Ninja Turtles ep we watched.

-Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The sound system sucked, so all the explosions were earsplitting and the dialog was inaudible. Ouch. Anyway, I had really forgotten the four turtles' distinct personalities. And April O'Neil. I will admit that when I was little, I used to run around pretending to BE April. I think I thought Donotello was the coolest at that point, though after tonight I have to say I'm fond of Raphael. Heh. And the brain thing, and Shredder, and the Footsoldiers. Weren't those dudes in purple and black called Footsoldiers? OH! Man! I forgot the other thing that I got so excited about--It was that Shredder was making mutants out of punks, which is to say punk music fans, which made me so happy to realize tonight. (I've always had a fondness for people who dress punk.) And the two henchmen are named after rock music styles: Bebop and Rock Steady. I would not have caught that before taking music history. Rock Steady!

-X-Men: Long loved X-Men. We watched the beginning of the Phoenix Saga, which left me cold. So that was less thrilling than it could have been. Gambit makes me laugh. What exactly is his mutation? He makes things explode? Dunno. I was trying to figure out who my favorite X-Man is, without reference to the movie. Wolverine, possibly. I've always had a soft spot for him. Cyclops and Jean Grey just annoy me. But Storm, Rogue, Jubilee, Beast... Okay, Gambit annoys me, too. I don't know much on the villains, apart from Magneto, and a lot of that is from the movie. I didn't dare try to fight my way into seeing X-2 today, but I might dare to venture back to the theatre on Tuesday.

-Bobby's World: I didn't think I knew this show, but once I saw it I realized I did know it, I just don't like it much. I don't think I watched it more than a couple of times.

-Tiny Toons: We watched the Halloween special, or at least a couple of parts of it. What was really funny was the fact that it was heavily parodying The Nightmare Before Christmas in the opening. And some of Babs' references are so dated or obscure. I love that about Warner Bros. Still, Tiny Toons is no match for the sheer funny of Animaniacs, which is why it sucks that I can watch Tiny Toons every day but I never get to see Animaniacs any more. Humph. *goes to pout in a corner*

I left when Captain Planet started.

Okay, so, the mall. Ostensibly I went to buy some Converse, but then I couldn't choose between black all-stars or red. I'm still uncertain. I'm leaning towards red, though. I dunno. I hesitate to get black because that's what Martha has and I don't want to seem like I was copying her.

Okay, it's after 1 now (it took me an hour to write all that garbage!), so I guess I'll leave off talking about the movie and the mall til tomorrow. I've left it for at least four hours now anyway. Six hours, actually. Gosh. I'll leave it at saying that Holes was pretty dang good. Especially that kid from West Wing as Sam, I liked the Sam and Kate subplot.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top