"i don't like change..."

04.24.03 @ 5:13 p.m.

"You Better You Bet" has put me in a totally giddy mood. I love how music can do that to me.

So today I changed my AOL Instant Messanger name. I had the old one, Nezgirl9847, for I think nearly two years. Well, a year and a half, anyway. Blah. Anyway, it isn't really relevant anymore, so I changed it to something kind of Who-y and kind of general music-I'm-into-y. I'm sure the anticipation has you breathless. "modsandrockers4." Way more thought went into that than is probably within the bounds of the completely sane.

So I decided this in the early afternoon, though the thought had first occurred to me last night and got a lot of consideration in the shower this morning (isn't it amazing how much thinking gets done in the shower?) and at length I sent a 'public service' email to everyone I could think of who had my previous AIM name... that I still wanted to talk to, mind you. And I haven't clued in the Monkeelanders, but I haven't been to Monkeeland in a while, what with infohell and life in general telling me that it would be a good idea to keep away from something that time consuming.

The point (oh, was there one? It's not very good, is it?) to all this, or perhaps more accurately the punchline is that I got a stern IM lecture from Slavik. The gist of it was "Why did you do this? I don't like change. I don't like it at all." I'm sorry, I didn't know my AIM name was a fixture in your life. Heh. You'll give a girl a complex, putting thoughts like that in her head. I also made a remark about not liking change either, or I'd have done it a lot sooner. We also chatted a little about birthdays. Just now I couldn't remember how we had got to that point, but I remember now. He bragged that he was going to Seattle for a concert, and I countered with "Oh yeah? Well I'm going to, er, Corvallis... for a birthday party. Yaaay." Yeah. I guess it's just as well I didn't try to slyly get him invited to Amy's party just to hang with him again if he'll be out of town. Well, I didn't really want him to go in the first place. It would be nice to monopolize his attention face to face rather than through 40 miles of cable.

It amuses me that Beth down the hall thinks that I should make some kind of move on Slavik. A) He has a ladyfriend. B) Not crushing on him. I just think he's cool in the same ways that Martha is.

E*, on the other hand, completely pisses me off of late. She keeps going on and fucking on about Marx and alienation (here's a hint: NEVER LIVE WITH A PHILOSOPHY STUDENT. I give that free of charge) and how she feels she's never experienced alienation. I think she's alienated from reality and doesn't know it. Okay, that's crueler than perhaps my actual thoughts are. She got in a big fight with her friend Austyn about Marx and she's been shouting in Chinese a lot into the phone. Apparently she got in an argument with her mother about the nature of reincarnation. Ah, those crazy, volitile Buddhists, eh? I'm starting to suspect that she's pushing herself into angst, and I asked something like "Didn't you ever have general teenage angst?" Apparently not.

In all honesty, I haven't been very nice to her of late. Snippy, mostly. I can't help it. I'm not patient.

Back to the mines, back to toiling away in infohell. It's so fucking accurate, that nickname. Anyway, I have to find a government document and annotate it, then I have to figure out if I can get away with considering these two books as "books" rather than institutional sources because they're both sponsered by committees or institutions. Bastards! Can't someone write a book on education finance reform without it being under the umbrella of a larger group?

Education finance reform. WHAT WAS I THINKING? And it's already the end of week 4. Good god. Where has the term gone? And I haven't done the PGE thing! I am SO SCREWED.

PS- I spent a bunch of this afternoon reading the Willamette Week, particularly this article, which I found particularly interesting.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top