you better you bet

04.22.03 @ 6:13 p.m.

I don't know if I wrote about E* telling me that the much worshiped Professor Saunders (my former Shakespeare teacher and all around amazingly cool guy) (and he's BRITISH) has a photo of the Who on his office door, which I have yet to see. I casually looked when I went to turn in a paper last week, but didn't see it. I'm blind, or I just left too quickly as I was feeling like an idiot just wandering around the third floor of PLC Hall. Anyway, I saw Saunders in passing on my way to the library to bury myself in my infohell project, and it occurred to me that he is a total Mod. He had his coat draped over his arm and for the first time I realized that he could have taken the thing from the set of Quadrophenia, it was so Mod. An army surplus-type parka. He's a fucking Mod. All he lacks is the scooter, I think. Or maybe he has one, I've seen several Vespas parked around campus. Wouldn't that be just delightful? To have a modern-day mod around? I love it, I just LOVE it.

Infohell is progressing merrily along, though I haven't gotten my government document to annotate yet for this week. But I have got four books, two of which could be institutional sources, and I'm going to lunch with scads of my classmates and a Pulitzer Prize winner on Monday. He's a reporter for the Oregonian.

I'm plagued with wondering if it's Keith Moon's voice on the song "We Close Tonight" off Odds & Sods, I probably ought to burn a physical copy of Blonde on Blonde so I actually listen to it, and I still have a lot of homework that I should do.

Martha and I have been discussing (via email) how totally lowbrow we think it is that Amy wants people to play "Pin the Penis on the Skeleton" at her birthday party. I suppose I belong to that minority of people in their teens and just out of their teens (I'm 20) that don't think a penis makes anything funnier. I rather think it has a tendency to drain the humor out of a situation, but then, I have rather a lot of maturity. Pfft. Amy is a gay man in a woman's body, that's all there is to it.

Ah, well, it's Amy's party, whatever she wants to do is up to her. I won't participate, but I rather think most people would be surprised if I did. Now, I think, I shall mess about with my guitar (I'm kind of learning Pinball Wizard in a casual, it's-no-big-deal-if-it-sounds-like-crap way, much praise to thewho.net for tabs and photos to make my multitude of desktop pictures out of) and get some dinner and half-assedly start analyzing the books from the library.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top