now i'm a farmer and i'm diggin' diggin' diggin'....

04.20.03 @ 1:01 p.m.

I wrote this last night, around eightish:

4/19
7:50 PM

To underscore how much of a flake I can sometimes be, at one point this afternoon I referred to Pete Townshend as "Pete Ticket." It would seem that I cannot think and speak at the same time. I was listening to "I'm the Face" for the first time (I was thrilled to realize that it's quoted in Quadrophenia... I can't remember exactly which song but I'll soon have that figured out.)

The thrill of the day is that I am now the proud owner of a brand spanking new copy of The Who's Odds and Sods. I also got ahold of my dad's copy of Blonde on Blonde (Dylan, of course, lest there be any confusion as I continue to rave about the Who) which will be listened to in it's entirety at a later date. I wish Liz were still around on Dland, somehow I think she'd appreciate a Who cover of "Under My Thumb." Raaah, I LOVE this album. *snerk* "Now I'm a farmer, and I'm diggin' diggin' diggin' diggin'...." I also really like "Postcard." I think I have yet to find a John Entwistle penned tune that I don't absolutely adore. He's brilliant, he is. John Entwistle and Pete Townshend... wheeee.... I'm still in a state of 'new album' giddiness. I doubt I shall recover this evening. I showed admirable self restraint (and also, my mom was paying so she limited me to one) by not also trying to buy Who Are You and Who By Numbers, which were also there. And at some point I fully intend to get the expanded version of Live at Leeds. Ooh, I'm so obsessive. I didn't see any good Kinks albums in the used section of Music Millennium, which is where we went. I didn't get a chance to venture into the new section looking for Kinks, though that is where I found my precious new Who album. Oh, man, and they had "Bass Drum Totes" which were lunch boxes shaped like a bass drum with a band logo on it... of course they had lovely gorgeous target Who logo ones. And some cool Stones and a Sgt. Pepper one.

Oh, speaking of collectable tin things that are actually a big waste of my money but still damn cool: My dad will be receiving a "A Hard Day's Night" double sided puzzle in a collectable.. collectible? Spell checks I have are listing both as correct and it means I'm going MAAAAAAAAD. Gaah. Anyway, it's in a pretty metal box, that's what I'm trying to say. And I did the worst gift wrapping job I have done in a long long time just a half hour ago. And I'm being shouted at to come make the goddamn cake already so I suppose that means I have to stop typing here, eh?

4/20
1 p.m.

Okay. Last night we watched Scotland, PA, which I really enjoyed but my dad was clearly bored. Poor Dad. And we won't watch The Doors because there just isn't time. This always happens, he rents too many movies and there's always at least one that doesn't get watched. I think he was hoping I would have us watch The Doors last night, but a) I really wanted to watch my movie and b) I knew Mom didn't really want to watch The Doors again. I'm waiting around for Easter Dinner to start, it should get underway in about 25 minutes. Woo. Then I have to go back to Eugene, which is not something I really want to do. I really need to get into gear on my infohell project, but I lack enthusiasm.

Ahhh. I have nothing more to say that's even remotely interesting, even to me.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top