monterey pop

04.11.03 @ 12:23 p.m.

This is just... cruelly ironic. Did you know that Dave Barry keeps a blog now?

Well, summer is apparently coming for some people but I still have a good 9 weeks of school left. I'll miss reading her diary.

I haven't written in a couple of days, have I? Well, on Wednesday I was going to go see Dr. Strangelove at the Bijou, but in the end it was too late at night. Plus we'd just watched a movie, (we being E*, her friend Austyn, and me) namely Wonder Boys. I think the universe is trying to tell me something, what with that movie and the readings we've been doing in Philosphy of Art. The universe is telling me to be a writer, and what am I actually writing of late? A really stupid only-entertaining-to-me story set around the Monterey International Pop festival in '67 with very little factual content. All I really have to go on is what I remember from Michelle Phillips' (of the Mamas and the Papas) autobiography, the Who's performance of My Generation (from Rock History), Hendrix and Joplin and the Jefferson Airplane (with their cheesy special effects consisting of a bowl of oil and an overhead projector). The imagination is a wonderful thing.

Anyway, I did speak about writing in Philosophy discussion group this morning, because some people were incredulous when it came to the idea of following what's right for a character and what a character would honestly do rather than forcing it all into a pre-established structure to prove a point. I explained that I thought it was more along the lines of having a plot all thought out and planned but being flexible and being willing to abandon the outline when the characters dictate. All in the name of honesty and philosophy, of course. It's a great class, I really like it even if the readings are a bit difficult at times. Not that I am, by any means, going to become a philosophy major or minor or even think of taking another class. I'm still wary of philosophers, ESPECIALLY after having lived with one for nearly two years.

Also, I'm getting fonder of the My Generation album.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top