dream a little dream of me

04.10.03 @ 1:07 a.m.

I think I forgot to mention that I had infuriating dreams last night about the song Whiskey Man (off the Who's A Quick One album). In my dream, I was at home watching TV with my parents and a McDonald's ad came on playing the song Whiskey Man. I was so annoyed that they had made a commercial where their spokesman was an alcoholic's delusion, this imaginary man who was hawking burgers. I think I saw the commercial several times in my dream, and I kept trying to explain to my parents why it made me angry and how incredibly stupid it was. Whiskey Man himself was a cartoon, if I remember correctly. There was another commercial featuring another Who song, but I don't remember what. The whole thing made me so angry that it actually woke me up, and I didn't have any blankets on me, which has never happened at school before. Very odd indeed.

This probably has some root in my hatred of the old "Bargain" truck commercials and the exploitation of the beatuy of Tommy to sell Claratin. No one seems to see the absurdity of the fact that the two pieces they use from Overture are "We're Not Gonna Take It" (yeah, let's sell a drug using music associated with that phrase) and "Go To The Mirror", a song about a doctor that can't cure. Sounds good. Seriously, am I the only person that gets this? And yet, commercials that use "My Generation" often get my enthusiasm, not my hatred. Probably because I knew "Bargain" as a commercial jingle first and it just annoyed me and Tommy is, I dunno, sacrosanct to me. You do not fuck with Tommy (unless you're Uncle Ernie or the Acid Queen, ah ha ha ha.... goddamn it, I need to make fewer stupid, obscure jokes. Just the other day I was thinking about that Who drawing from a couple of entries ago and I thought about how long it took me to draw Entwistle and the words "I spent a long time fiddling with Entwistle" entered my head and were unbelieveably funny because John wrote "Fiddle About" for Tommy... It's like making jokes about Pride and Prejudice or shouting "Bingley!" whenever I see Crispin Bonham-Carter in some obscure thing or as a momentary cameo on ER. Enough with the italics for now, eh?

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top