put away your girly magazines

03.27.03 @ 12:18 a.m.

On the heels of that long vacation recap, I bring this random bit of hilarity.

Also, I'm listening to the reissue version of Who's Next, specifically the song "Pure and Easy" which is quite lovely and slightly different than the version on the Ultimate Collection album... in the last second, for the first time, I'm certain I can hear Roger say "Put away your girly magazines!" which is very very odd, coming, as it does, after the fade out. I... I have never heard that before and it threw me for a loop, it did.

I also found out that my dad knew the song "Going Mobile" without knowing it was the Who. It's Pete, tee hee. And he sings "Beep beep!" which just... oh, it's the funniest thing. He's an air conditioned gypsy. Heh heh. I'm in such a stupid mood. This is what happens when I immerse myself in my obsessions.

Plus I've been reading the funniest Jane Austen fanfic in the history of the world. It's not finished yet, but The Life and Opinions of Gilroy Hurst, Gentleman is completely worth reading for the P&P fanatic. The archive version ends with Hurst snubbing Caroline Bingley on the dance floor, but I've read the next bit on the DWG message board and... oh my. Jane and Mr. Bingley's puppy love has such comic possiblity. I love Jane and Bingley, even if they aren't the shining stars, the passionate love affair of P&P. Sometimes in fanfic they're sickly sweet to the point of annoyance, and it's hard to believe someone like Jane could exist, but... Oh, I don't know where I'm going, considering that I just about worship the Elizabeth/Darcy relationship. Jane Austen is a goddess of literature, even if there are several of her characters that I think deserve a good smack upside the head. But that means they're well written, doesn't it? They have personality, it's just personality you want to throttle. (Fanny goddamn Price, that's all I can say.) I need to read the book I bought at Christmas, with Lady Susan, Love and Freindship (sic), The Watsons and the Juvenilia in it. I love her History of England.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top