the joys of family

03.27.03 @ 7:52 p.m.

Another evening with my sister. Not that that's a bad thing.

I knew, though, I just knew she was going to ask me if I was dating. What am I going to say in front of the whole dinner table? "Oh, no, I'm secretly nursing my disappointment over my failure with Who Boy and am otherwise antisocial and undatable. Thanks for asking." Jesus. Family, who needs it? Well, me, actually, but I could do without siblings and casual yet uncomfortable questions.

And is it not the sweetest thing that my sister's boyfriend asked for my dad's permission to propose?!? I think it is, but Dad is worried that Joanne hasn't been honest with him about Huntington's disease. My sister may or may not have a serious, degenerative neurological disease. Her mother had to give her up for adoption because the disease made her insane. Wannie doesn't know if she has it or not, she doesn't want to be tested. I think I can understand the wish not to know. Say she gets tested � either she knows she won't develop the disease or she has to live her life knowing that in time she'll slowly lose control of herself. I don't think she knows I know about the whole situation. Then there's the risk that she might simply be a carrier and could pass it on to any children she might have. I bet Shawn wants kids, will they follow my father's example and adopt? (Both my siblings are adopted because my father's first wife couldn't have children because of her diabetes; as I understand it, childbirth would have killed her. So they adopted my brother and sister. Eventually they divorced. I've been told it's partly because Gennie wanted an 'open marriage' i.e. she wanted to sleep with other men. My dad may be progressive but not that progressive. In time he married my mom and they had me the, ahem, old fashioned way. I'm my father's only genetic child.)

I'm swimming in Dave Barry books today after a trip to the library. I feel slightly guilty checking out the large print edition of Tricky Business, like I'm taking a handicap parking space or something, but I figure I won't have it for more than a couple of days. I was tempted to take the large print edition of About a Boy, but I guess I'll read that later on. I also picked up two more Regency Romances, Kurt Vonnegut, Jr's Cat's Cradle, and Crime and Punishment from the paperback exchange. (Oh, paperback exchange, how I love thee!) I picked up Crime and Punishment because E* has been reading it in Chinese, I think, and has been complaining that it's not a very good translation, so she might want an English version to compare it to. And hey, it's an exchange book, so it's free. If she doesn't want it, I can give it back to the exchange and someone else can enjoy it.

I'm thinking of starting a booklist and keeping track of everything I read (for entertainment, that is). I've been keeping one on my computer, but it's distressingly short, what with my reading a lot of fanfic and schoolbooks.

I'm also on a mission to find blank baseball jerseys so I can make my planned kick ass Quadrophenia t-shirt. Heh heh.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top