she's a rainbow

03.01.03 @ 10:50 p.m.

The good and the bad: I've finally gotten through to my enneagram-obsessed father that I am NOT just like him. Happily, disagreeing with him on this personality test lead to this:

"But that would mean you're a *cue incredulous voice* five..."

Which, if I believed in this stuff (and maybe I'm starting to, just a little), is exactly where I've placed myself at other times. After ennumerating my obsessions and bookish intensity on certain issues, he believed me. "No wonder you get along so well with my brother." My uncle Don, you see, is practically a genius. He's a minister who collects chess sets and went to the following universities: Harvard, Yale, and Oxford. Yeah. All three of them. We sometimes talk about Shakespeare and such, which usually leaves Dad a bit disgruntled. He thinks his brother is a pretentious jerk. A ha ha ha. Then I also get this: "There's something about the Barnhart line, sometimes it throws out people like Don. You're kind of brilliant." Kind of? Oh, thank you very much. (Look! I'm a pretentious jerk, too! Heehee, I'm in a funny mood right now.) One of his books also talked about what happens when a five meets someone with similar interests/obsessions--they get along like a house on fire. I mean, my friendship with Rachel, all the girls (and guys) at Monkeeland, all the people I once knew a long time ago in a galaxy far, far away (i.e. the Excite Star Wars novelization message boards, where I was the lovely smuggler Mirax Terrik-Horn, of course). I connect with people who are similarly obsessive. And otherwise, I'm a total recluse. I think I'm so open online because I can see it as just another facet of the fluffy little world that exists inside my head and where I like to spend most of my time.

I think Dad might end up slightly upset that his days of declaring "We're exactly the same!" are over, but now he can spend his time researching how to 'fix' me, isn't that nice. Actually, I don't like my tendency to be a recluse and a loner, so I'm going to go to the trouble of reading the book we just used to classify me. (My mildly inebriated father lost a game of 7-Card Rummy to me. This has not happened very often, but I seem to have developed strategy after years and years of losing horribly. We play to five hundred points--It's worth mentioning that I have merely inherited the position of 'opponent' from my half-sister. I still sometimes find old notebooks I was using for art or a journal or something that will have a random page covered in scores from games between them. Anyway, my point about the card game is that I think I'm knocking down a lot of my father's conceptions tonight, or rather, he had to lose to me and be proved wrong about what I'm really like.) All of a sudden it made sense to him, how his type always wants social connections and yet I don't give a damn about most people.

So hey, I'm in a position to be playing cards and be analyzed by my dad--I must be at home and not in Eugene, eh? Yeah, I came home for the weekend, which is nice. We watched Tommy last night. (Again!?! you might ask... Well, my dad rented it because he wanted to see it, and while I might normally say "You can't get too much Who," this came close. But my dad and I got to make snarky comments about Ann Margaret and Daltrey, so it was all good fun.) Today I went to the grocery store and the library with Mom, which resulted in Strawberry Cheesecake Drumstick cones, which are magically delicious, and then my parents took me to the best restaurant in the ENTIRE WORLD, Skyline Drive-In. It's an old '50s drive in that has unbelieveably wonderful cheeseburgers. Mmm. And a not-quite-kitschy early sixties atmosphere. They just never bothered to change, except upping the prices every so often. They even brought back car service recently.

I also got my hands on copies of London Calling and Forty Licks, which is interesting. I used to be very interested in a short clip of She's A Rainbow that was in an iMac ad, and now I can listen to the whole thing. (I'm surprised there's a song from Bridges to Babylon on there, I guess because it's so recent. Personally, my favorite B to B song is Saint of Me. I remember them performing it back in '98.... *sighs at the hazy memories of Mick strutting back and forth so far away from where I sat...* I may go to some good concerts, but I always get cheap seats.)

Okay, that's enough! I have to buy a bus ticket and do some other things online tonight.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top