some geekiness, regret, and self-chastisement

02.23.03 @ 10:52 p.m.

In a few minutes I think I'm going to attempt to watch Law & Order: SVU, so this may well be a short entry. Depends on if I find my diary groove.

I accomplished nothing this weekend, and I had such high hopes. And yet, nothing. I read a quarter, maybe, of my NaNovel. I had hoped to have read the whole thing this weekend. Hah. I also failed to read any of Mama Lola, which is massive and has to be read by Friday. I also failed to do any work on my History paper, which is all the more important in the light of my monumental fuck up on the final. What did I do? I laid around. I used my computer so much (and still am) that my eyes hurt. I read a little of Riverwood, but mostly I read Guards! Guards! or worse, fanfiction. Lots of fanfiction.

Today I made three prints. I love being in the darkroom. The only thing that tops just being in the darkroom and working industriously is working in the darkroom and doing little dances while listening to Tommy and waiting for your test strip to develop. Okay, so I'm a geek. And it was hard not to sing along, but I wouldn't inflict that on everyone. If I were daring, I'd go to Saturday night Karaoke at Common Grounds and do their only Who song, which is Tommy's "We're Not Gonna Take It," though it's probably just the "See Me, Feel Me" bits, which are the only bits on Woodstock. So there was lots of fun while shakin' my booty to "Go To The Mirror, Boy" by amber safelight. I'm very whimsical when I'm all alone.

And still fixated on Tommy you might notice. Tomorrow I might go to "The Campus Video Store" and create an account. They have dollar rentals on Monday and Tuesday, and alluringly, a copy of Tommy. Although I will admit that the clips I saw on my Tommy documentary of Roger's very vacant look creeped me out slightly. But I do love Roger, in a he's-so-cool way, not a picture-him-as-the-lead-in-a-cheesy-romance way. Basically, not like I love Nez. I just lust after Nez, it's sad, really, but hell, I can rationalize fanfic by telling myself that it's good writing practice, except I think I have yet to actually finish a fanfic. They start, they progress merrily, and the plot occupies a lot of my daydreaming time. And I never do anything with it. I just stop. Rowen's been going for a couple of years now, and I've just introduced another completely random bit of her early association with Nez. I'm inserting her into an episode (One Man Shy) just for the sake of having her play Spin The Bottle with the Monkees.

I am the world's biggest geek, and I only reenforce it by going over fanfic plots here.

I am so frustrated with Monkeeland, specifically the minor war that went down over cartoon dollz. Mainly it was Mike's inability to let go that bothered me. I pretty much agreed with Pinky and Toaster that using something with symbolic meaning, even in ignorance, still has meaning and people need to be aware of that. But a stupid near flame war jeopardizes our reputation as a friendly community.

Uuugh... I have to do my homework, I really really do. Elizabeth Bennet and Fitzwilliam Darcy try to tempt me away with the DWG, Rowen and Nez try do lure me into writing my own fic, Traveler and Finder want me to start their damn post-apocalyptic adventure already, Emma Rowland and Robert Beckford want me to get on with their angst ridden courtship or smooth out some of the gaping plot holes in Riverwood Park, Sam Vimes and Lupine Wonse want me to finish reading G! G! and last but not least, Detectives Benson and Stadler have successfully drawn me into their investigation of a Tibetan woman's death on L&O:SVU. TV wins, writing suffers, homework goes undone for another half hour.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top