the discworld

02.22.03 @ 7:57 p.m.

It's been a couple of days since I wrote anything, I see, and I don't like to not write here. Not when I have easy internet access and the browser doesn't quit on me every five minutes like it does at home.

Anyway.

Yesterday, E*'s friend Austyn came over and hung out while I sat around watching a Monkees episode. After that we went up to a little video rental place and checked out Possession on DVD. Naked Jeremy Northam, how can you go wrong? Plus it's always nice to see Jennifer "Elizabeth Bennet" Ehle in a movie. She looks so different with her hair red and long and hanging down when she tells Blanche that Ash is not going to change their relationship. Ah. A lovely movie. Really. Austyn ended up spending the night on our floor, which was interesting. Not that anything came of it, just that people rarely spend the night here.

Probably the most interesting thing (apart from the movie et al.) last night was the fact that we got a drunken phone call from somebody named Jeff. Why do people never pay attention to the outgoing message on an answering machine? The jist of the message was "Hey, it's Jeff. I haven't seen you in about three weeks and I'm really lonely. Reeeeeeally lonely if you know what I mean. Call me." No number, no identification of who he was trying to call.

Now, I'd expect some wrong numbers because it's a dorm and different people lived here last year. But then again, this was a boys' floor (and the numbers don't change) and that would add a whole new dimension to this Jeff fella.

Nothing much happened today, either, except that I'm really seriously starting to edit Riverwood. Well, preedit. I'm reading through the whole thing now to get a basic idea of what my original plot was. It's funny to flip through the back and see things I can't remember writing, like a crack about how when a pregnant character tried to sit in her favorite chair, her husband would make jokes about ships manouvering into a harbor. Silly stuff like that.

I'm also reading Pratchett again, which is a delight. I already read Soul Music and talked about it here several times, but now I'm reading Guards! Guards! again and I had forgotten how much I like the City Watch subseries. I'm dying to get my hands on a copy of Night Watch but I have a bad feeling that won't happen anytime soon. Also, I read the lspace.org annotations for Guards! Guards! for the first time, and now am placing Vimes (possibly my all-time favorite DW character) in the light of the film noir antihero. It's also nice to have read that Pratchett always imagined the Patrician as Alan Rickman or another actor I forget. So now I'm mentally putting all the Patrician's lines in Alan's Snape voice (and picturing Snape in my mind... far more fitting that Col. Brandon or some such, plus Snape has the same color preferences as the Patrician: black) and it's wonderful. I never felt much depth to Lord Vetinari, but w/ the voice now, he's filling out for me.

I've always put Vimes down in my mind as sort of Russell Crowe in Gladiator-looking, possibly because he (Vimes) is always wearing breastplate, breeches, chainmail, etc. and he's supposed to be kind of worn and unshaven. I am sure this is actually much much nicer than Vimes is supposed to look, but hey, I'm the reader. All this plays out in a little theater in my head and I can bloody well choose the actors. I have no idea who I would choose for Sybil Vimes (nee Ramkin), a large, loudly aristocratic woman. Calls people "jolly good chap" a lot.

Rincewind, though he doesn't appear in the City Watch books (or really any where he isn't the focus--he's usually lost someplace horrible), is irrevocably Eric Idle in my head since Idle provided the voice for the first two games Discworld games.

I kind of want to start MUDding again. I started a new character a few weeks ago, and maybe that's what I'll do with my night in a really pathetisad way. Discworld MUD has gotten bloody huge since I used to practically live there and I have no idea how to find my way in Ankh-Morpork. I used to know that city like the back of my hand.

I'm such a huge geek. It's a Saturday night and I'm seriously considering MUDding all night. I'm such a loser. But I don't really have anyplace I want to go. There's a Karaoke thing at the cafe, but I don't like a lot of the people who live here in dormland. (I'm being totally prejudiced, but there you are.)

Everyone is out and about in the world except me, it feels like. And there is nothing I want to be doing right now. I don't actually like people, which kind of puts a damper on any attempts to create a social life.

Hrm, skirting the edge of some dangerous self pity. Maybe I should take off now to try and justify myself by working on my NaNovel.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top