what do we want? when do we want it?

02.15.03 @ 11:16 p.m.

Today I marched in the rain with a mixed group of young and aging hippies, socially conscious baby boomers, and a very small (disturbingly small) number of mainstream college aged people from the University to a little plaza outside the Eugene City Hall. It was a little satellite of the antiwar protests that took place all over the world today. I'm proud of myself for getting involved, showing some sort of social conscious, but I did leave early with aching legs and an aching back. And E* was unnerved by what seemed to me to be very non-evocative, non-imagistic descriptions of the Vietnam war. The guy just mentioned wounded soldiers filling up the big troop planes and planes filled with shining aluminum coffins and she just said to me "Oh, I don't want to listen to this, let's go now."

Strange girl.

I was so tired and sore after walking so much. I think I've managed to fuck up both my knees with my new enthusiasm for working out. Bra-vo. Once we got back to the dorms we watched Shrek, which E* declared early on to be a movie unsuitable for young children as it would "ruin your childhood." I argued that ruination doesn't lurk in parody and it doesn't hurt to make fun of Western mythology. Personally, I think it's just because there were some digs at Peter Pan and she puts some kind of sacred reverence on that story.

Can I mention that I've never cared for Peter Pan in any form?

E* had such a childhood reverence for Peter Pan that she convinced her parents to give her brother the English name, Peter. (I don't know his Chinese name.)

We also watched Ocean's Eleven tonight. I had forgotten that I actually rather liked that movie. I've only seen it once, on my 19th birthday when it was in theatres and there wasn't really anything else we wanted to see. I didn't know who Don Cheadle was at the time (though I barely know who he is now) and, well, one always appreciates a witty movie.

Now SNL is on, and I guess I'll give the majority of my attention to it. Besides, I kind of want to write tonight as I'm trying to make myself write something like 400 words a day.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top