who-peace-relief

02.07.03 @ 12:09 p.m.

I'm slightly embarassed by the fact that I own CDs by bands I love but haven't really listened to them. I got the Who's A Quick Once around Christmas. Oh, I remember now. My dad took back a CD he didn't realize I already had (The Monkees Talk Downunder) and exchanged it for The Who Sing My Generation (which I also haven't listened to much) (the non-expanded version), and the reissue of A Quick One, which also has all the songs from Ready, Steady, Who on it. Anyway, until yesterday, I've never listened to it all the way through. Now, I've listened to it a half a dozen times, though I still don't know the songs yet because I've mostly been using it as background and marvelling at the fact that there's a second verse to the "Ivor the Engine Driver" segment in "A Quick One While He's Away." I've always preferred the Live at Leeds version.

Basically, I got all these Who CDs for Christmas, and the only albums I know well are The Who: The Ultimate Collection (and I've had that since June), Tommy, and The Who Sell Out. (Quadrophenia has also been neglected despite the fact that I *lurve* that movie.)

I made about 25 desktop patterns for my computer, but they're really variations on 8 pictures in a theme. They're all a big Union Jack (something which my mother is less than thrilled about after I told her about them, being Irish) with red tinted Who photos in the middle and images of four Who pinback buttons scattered in various patterns. The idea was to set my desktop pattern to change every half hour, but the change won't be huge and noticeable. The photo in the middle will be the only part changing or the buttons will be in a different pattern. The design is slightly off center to compensate for my Mac OS X Dock (a bar with icons on it, mines on the left, most are on the bottom). Anyway, it's neat. I'm very Who-ish lately.

On a more lucid and less obsessed note, trouble is a-brewin' at the U of O. For several days now, anti-war demonstrators have been holding a sit-in, or rather, many short sit-ins on a daily basis in front of the administration building on campus. Today the neo-hippies (complete with tie-dye banners and acoustic guitars!) were displaced by a group of frat-boy jackasses with Bush/Cheney signs and signs that said "Drop The Bomb!" Were there ever "Let's nuke the fuck out of them" protesters in the sixties? One guy stood off the the side of both groups with a sign that said "Forget bombing, have the CIA incite a coup"... I wonder if there was any irony there. I would think so from the kind of sardonic smile the guy gave me. His expression might have changed when I walked past him, glared at the fuckwits on the steps of Johnson hall and muttered a few unladylike words about them.

I also had a short self esteem boost half an hour ago - Danae asked me if I was going to the Bridget Jones' Diary event on Saturday. I'm not, but I would if I weren't already going to a dog show with my dad. I also think I managed to not arse up my midterms and papers today, so I'll bask in relief. Later I plan to go lurk in the darkroom and develop my new roll of film. Hopefully I won't be a moron this time and get it done properly. *sigh* Maybe.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top