war, ungh, good god, y'all, what is it good for?

02.06.03 @ 12:02 p.m.

When I left for class an hour and 15 minutes ago, I was in the midst of making a kick-ass Who desktop picture for my laptop. Now that I'm back, I want to write something down before I go back to work on it or go get lunch.

I was asked today to 'sign a petition to stop the war'... maybe I'm really cynical, but I think most petitions do jack shit. Especially those damn email petitions. My mom foisted one of those off on me, and I sent her an email saying it was probably futile, but she wanted me to do it anyway. I didn't. Anyway. What stuck in my mind was "The War." How is this going to be known to history? If this takes place, it could well be our Vietnam or at the worst, a plot out of sixties SF (which was generally moralistitc and apocalypse obsessed). Names started running through my mind. Iraq. Gulf War 2. Operation Enduring Fuck-up.

That last one is my favorite. It makes me feel cleverer than I am.

Hah, I just checked my email, and my aunt had sent me this:

WASHINGTON POST JAN. 27, 2003 - Early this morning a devastating fire burned down the personal library of President George W. Bush. Tragically, both books were lost in the conflagration. More poignantly, the President, due to his hectic schedule, had not found time to color in the second one.

Funny, I can't remember the second thing I wanted to talk about today. I think it was cell phones... cell phones do cause brain damage... they give you the delusion that everyone else in the world wants to hear your private conversation.

PS- Hurrah! Claratin has started abusing the Cowsills instead of Tommy in their commercials.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top