blah blah blah

01.12.03 @ 3:29 p.m.

This is a lousy day in sort of a blah way. Sucks that I just had to pay $200 for books for only TWO CLASSES. I have some reading I should do and I need to get up to date with the class I just joined on Wednesday (meaning that I have yet to attend a lecture, though I was able to go to the discussion group on Friday and find that my former hallmate Hillary is in my group, hurrah for familiar faces!)

Speaking of familiar faces, I saw a high school acquaintance at the bookstore and unlike most of them, he actually bothered to say hi and smile at me. That was nice, because I was feeling very harried. I was lugging my $200 of books and dripping wet from the rain, struggling with reciepts and my wallet and my umbrella all at once... it seems like someone saying hi could just add stress to that, but it was nice.

Last night I watched Amelie with E* and her friend Patricia and really liked it. We also watched Back To The Future III. Man, you just know what's going to happend. In every movie, Marty passes out and wakes up in the dark to Lea Thompson telling him he'll be fine while he moans about a nightmare, and then it's always some variation on the theme Lorraine. First it's fifties Lorraine, then it's skanky Las Vegas Lorraine in the alternate 1985, and finally it's Maggie McFly, Seamus McFly's wife in the old west. Ha. I love Doc Brown's very Jules Verne train-based time machine. Man, I just love those movies so much. I'm thinking it's time to try to convince my dad that this is an essential DVD purchase for him to make. I'm evil.

My parents have talked a little about me going home sometimes this month, but I don't know how feasable that is, unless I go home this weekend. The 26th is my first photography class and I'm going to a dog show with Dad during the second weekend in February. We did this last year, too. My dad picks me up at school, we go up to Albany to the dog show and home from there. Then we go back to Albany the next day and Dad drops me back in Eugene after the show is over. I'm going to email him and tell him to make me a copy of All Things Must Pass (George Harrison) to bring up with him. I'll have to make him copies of Back In the US (McCartney). I was going to make him a Kinks CD, too.

I'm really tired even though I slept in fairly late this morning. I wanted to sleep even longer and let my mind wander. I spend a lot of time carefully ensconced in my imagination, you see. I am a highly skilled daydreamer, which can cause problems in class. I mentally wrote a bunch of scenes for Riverwood in class and when I was taking history notes on my laptop, sometimes I out and out wrote scenes. I wrote a scene about going to see Shakespeare's Richard II during a history lecture.

I got my NaNoWriMo shirt today... Well, not the one I ordered, but a well meaning replacement. Oh well.

Sir Percy Hits Back has some slightly predictable moments, provided that you're able to remember that Citizen Chauvelin's first name is Armand. I confirmed my suspicions by paging through the end, something I have a hard time resisting. I like endings, maybe because I have a hard time writing them. Haha.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top