guilty pleasures

11.20.02 @ 1:22 a.m.

I often lament that I am going to grow up to write bad Regency Romances. Haha, I mentioned something tonight about my penchant for the melodramatic to one of my hallmates and she said "Well, you could always make a ton of money writing Harliquin Romances!"

When I tell myself that I'll end up writing pulp romance, it's funny.

When someone else tells me that, it's disturbing.

And you know what the worst thing is? I'm going to indulge myself this winter break (or earlier, like Thanksgiving) by taking a tote bag into the library and getting a ton of cheesy Regency Romances from the Paperback Exchange. I've always wanted to read some of them just for the sheer absurdity of it, but I'm embarassed by the idea that someone might catch me reading them. My mother jokes that I should take the cover off my copy of Catcher in the Rye and use it to disguise the other books. *sigh*

Tomorrow I'll actually look at the schedule of classes and maybe I'll pick up the sheet of major requirements for the English department. Yep. What the fuck, why should I study something I don't like when I'm passionate about books?

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top