carry that weight

11.14.02 @ 11:07 a.m.

I started to type up a bit of a summary of the female contamination of the male thing from Shakespeare class and I've got about half of the interesting stuff. I'll post it later in full. (My summary, that is. This essay is pages and pages and pages and I don't want to get sued or anything :) ) Heh. I kind of went crazy while I was reading it and underlined most of it once I got to the middle. I kept looking at it during class last night and the phrase "An orgy of senseless underlining" sprung to mind. What is it with me and using the word 'orgy' to describe a frenzy of something? I mean, a week or two ago I went through "an orgy of cleaning."

I blame Saunders and all the sexual metaphors I'm supposed to be on the lookout for in our texts. It's carrying over to the rest of my life. For example, that essay I keep talking about, the one about how women are the corruption of the world as far as Shakespeare's concerned in King Lear (the author is a feminist critic -- I've found out that our dear Dr. Saunders has spent a lot of time studying feminist criticism, which explains the high volume of feminist criticims we're given to read), there's something about King Lear giving the rod to the mothers or something. I thought it sounded very naughty indeed for a serious academic paper, but then I remembered that the Fool had some line about "You have made your daughters your mothers, gave them the rod and pulled down your own breeches," meaning being spanked with it like a child. It was not a cheeky metaphor for Lear having sex with people, which would have been shocking and rather nonsensical.

I'm listening to Abbey Road. I can never get enough of the Mean Mr. Mustard/Polythene Pam/She Came In Through The Bathroom Window triad. Also, You Never Give Me Your Money is a favorite of mine. When I went to Macca, he glossed over the middle by singing "I don't know the words..." or something along those lines. I'm so excited for Macca's live CD to come out. The 26th is the release date, I think. I wonder if I can talk my dad into buying it at Thanksgiving? I'll likely have to wait until my birthday. Poo. Then again, that's only a month and a bit away. I'm so happy that I share my birthday with a notorious Jedi and badass (Sam Jackson). I need to find a picture of Jackson as Mace Windu looking really intense and put the words "Use the Force, Motherfucker" on it. In tenth grade (that long ago!?!), Martha told us about a poster she or her sister had seen that looked like that. Hmmm. That was just before I rediscovered the Monkees, I think. I was still in major Star Wars mode, which I still get into for the original trilogy. My favorite character is Wedge Antilles, the only pilot to survive both Death Star runs.

Now that I've really rambled myself down an odd path, I'm going to change for yoga and use my last hour before class to work on Riverwood a bit more before I really throw myself into studying.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top