internet pioneer

11.11.02 @ 3:20 p.m.

I sincerely doubt that curry-guy will become a love interest. Disappointing, I know, but I doubt I'll see him again, really. Damn, I really need to be more sociable.

Well, I just spent something like a half an hour talking to Jo. I haven't done that in a really long time. That was nice. Now when people constantly ask me how Jodi is, I'll have some semblance of an answer apart from "I dunno, I haven't talked to her since August." Isn't that nice?

For reasons unknown to me, I found myself ruminating on one of the first things I ever did on the internet. Somehow I started thinking of those Choose-Your-Own-Adventure books that we always had at my elementary school. You know, "If Henry goes into the dark cave, go to page 57. If he goes to the police, the big wuss, you might as well put down the book now because you're a boring person and we don't want to write your wuss plot." Well, one of the first things I used to mess with online was something called Addventure. It was this massive Choose-Your-Own-Adventure type thing, but it was entirely written by the 'players'. When you got to a dead end, you had the option of writing the next page and the options that went with it. I can't remember what I wrote. Something about ewoks once, I think. One of them kept cycling back to this 'room' with a silver puddle that you went through. It would seem that Addventure Classic is still up... the Addventure site still exists. I'm not surprised. I think I went back a few weeks ago. It was back in sixth grade that I used to play it, so about 8 years ago or so. I also used to chat in this old Fox Entertainment chat room, back before chat was really big. I mean, it was this tiny general entertainment chat room, all text, nothing fancy. I used to hang out with this guy in Alaska who called himself 8Ball. My old name was XLent. Crappy, yes, but I was twelve and I thought it was clever. Man. I was on the Internet before a lot of my peers, and here I am with only a rudimentary knowledge of HTML. I never really got into coding and stuff until three years ago or so, and I still mostly use a WYSIWYG editor with a few exceptions. It's just easier, and I'm nothing if not lazy.

In other news:
-I think I did okay on my Italian exam and I was essentially forgiven for blowing off the study session. Fran is a nice girl.
-I got a ticket to go see Margaret Cho. She's hilarious. I'm so psyched and I'm very very glad that I went to get tickets WITH someone so I won't be going by myself. Yaaay!

Now I have less than two hours to read a bunch of Lear for tonight's Shakespeare (eee!) class. I never finished it like I intended to this weekend. I didn't do ANYTHING useful this weekend. I mean, I studied a little and I set up my computer for my whole paper-saving scheme (keeping the lecture files on my laptop so I don't have to print them as well as experimenting with taking notes on my little laptop) and I did a little NaNo writing. I'm still way too far behind. I might be able to do some writing after I do my Italian homework after Shakespeare class today. But that means I have to detatch myself from the computer to do my King Lear reading. Must... stop... writing... here.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top