jesus freaks and composition books

10.23.02 @ 4:13 p.m.

I'm starting to feel like I'm stalking Slavik. One little decision to try and reinstate contatct with the boy has turned into a full fledged information hunt as Andrew wants his contact info, too. I dunno, I guess I miss the guy. I want to visit the Corvallis contingent sometime, too. I was supposed to go to their halloween party (though I'm not sure I want to, really) but I've got a ticket for the Oregon-Stanford game and I want to go to at least one football game in my high school career. I want them all to see my cute new haircut (which is making me so vain I look at myself in every window I pass!).

I had forgotten how short Al my journalism prof is. He's kind of a compact guy, but he's got big personality so he seems like an imposing man.

There were fucking crazy Jesus people on campus today. I mean it, total lunacy. They had bullhorns, not to mention the really, really, really big signs they were carrying. I don't think they handed out very many pamphlets, I'm afraid. I know I avoided them like the plague. They shouted a lot about not being affiliated with any church. One of the signs said (in very large letters) "OBEY JESUS OR PERISH!" which seemed a bit intense, even for crazy evangilists. I remember the first thing I heard them say this morning--"...so you say you don't believe in hell? Take a look in the mirror, you all look like hell--depressed..." etc. etc. I won't sport with your intelligence by repeating all that was said. Suffice it to say that crossing campus became almost surreal in it's weirdness today. Poor Original Jesus Dude kind of sat off to the side. I think he wanted to be sure he wasn't associated with these people. I noticed a lot of people talking to him today. I wonder if they were getting his opinon on this group. That's what I would ask if I spoke to him. It's funny and sad and strange all at once.

I shouldn't be writing right now. I still have two acts of Othello yet to read in the next two hours. Crikey. I don't think I'll finish in time. (Epecially if I take a break to write here!)

I finally started one of my Todd Oldham composition books from Target. They're so neat with the star patterns all over. I'm addicted to writing in composition books. I don't know what it is. I'm trying to work out the synopsis of Doland Park so I have something to refer back to before I finish writing the narrative out. I have to go back and edit a lot because I changed the structure of a bunch of relationships. Oooh, this is exciting. I love writing so much, and I think with the exception of the dreadful 'Propinquity', this is the longest project I've ever embarked upon. I think that's an indication of progress. I mean, it's still a crap romance, but it's a start. I think I like the surrealistic writing that Nez does in what I have read of the Prison. He created the little world it takes place in completely, so he doesn't have to follow real life conventions and it's interesting. I hope to finish it sometime soon, but how likely is that with two midterms forthcoming and a strong desire to work on or even finish Doland Park?

Not to mention E* seriously wanting to watch Sense and Sensibility soon...

And I need to get down to writing a letter to Jessica...

I hate it when my life gets so crowded.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top