california dreamin' pays off

08.23.02 @ 11:29 p.m.

I think I just had about as much fun as is possible in one day! I met Rach and we got along really well and I saw both Monkees concerts, the second one from really good seats. I took four rolls worth of pictures... four 36 exposure rolls! *maniacal laughter* This was so much fun, and I'm so glad I got to meet up with Rach. Parental units were surprisingly cool about people meeting people only known online (it was more people our own age who were like "she could be some 97 year old man!" but we've been writing and exchanging fic for over a year now. It was all good. Man, I wonder if there's a photoworks place around here. I want my pictures! I'm so impatient. I bought two Monkees shirts, a poster, and a keychain. It's a cute keychain, a little picture of a Monkees thermos, but it only has Micky and Davy on it. The shirts, one has all the boys from the '67 tourbook and the other is sleeveless with the cover of Pisces Aquarius Capricorn and Jones, LTD. Oof, I'm really sweaty. It was hot today. And my hips and knees are getting sore after going all day and then stopping for the car ride. They're protesting the idea of being used again. Guuuunk.

I'm writing from my aunt's computer--I'm actually in Pasadena. I'm glad I have access to a computer so I can keep updating here and have you know, memories.

The Monkees concert was ffffffaaaaaaannnnnttttaaaasssssttttiiiccc! It was cool, because just about all the fans I chatted with were really cool. We had really good seats, and Davy and Micky were just plain hilarious. Micky played Randy Scouse Git and was all "the colors! The colors!" afterwards and then looked at Davy and said "Who the hell are you?" He said "I'm Davy, I'm your buddy, you're partner!" And Micky started screaming (well, his imitation of a fan voice) "Davy Jones! Ohmigod, it's Davy Jones! Somebody take our picture!" and as he was led toward the back of the stage he said "Davy friggin' Jones!" which was just about the funniest thing I heard all day. Lots of jokes about David's height and I did write down the list of songs performed. Rach tells me they didn't play RSG on the other days.

OOOH! So I don't forget--Random Girl Without A Name in Rachel's and my time travel fic will now be known as 'Randy' which is something we decided just before we parted company at DCA. We really ought to write that one. Okay, I'll probably write more of a review later or maybe I'll type one up for GCF. Dunno yet. I'm psyched about my pictures

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top