nobody ever lends money to a man with a sense of humor

05.17.02 @ 10:08 p.m.

Is it strange for someone who doesn't have an interest in drugs to absolutely love a movie that was conceptualized by six people stoned off their asses and written by two of them on acid. Yep. And one of the pot AND acid people was none other than Jack "Here's Johnny" Nicholson. I am talking about the movie HEAD. I just finished watching it yet again. Mike is just so dreamy in that movie. I tried to tone down my squealiness for E*'s sake. Her concentration wasn't on the movie, though it's a little selfish of me to expect her to pay attention when she has other things to do.

The reason I got all into HEAD was that I read on Monkees-Alert, a yahoogroup run through Monkees.net and the best source for Monkees news, that the British magazine Mojo had a cover story on HEAD. Of course, I was excited and eager to go get a copy. Well, I guess it must be the June issue, 'cause I went all the way down to Borders (which was a trip, you know. I don't have a car, even if I did drive... well, I have a car that may just be up and running soon, but I can't drive... anyway, I had to take the bus 'round and 'round Eugene.) and it wasn't the May issue.

I hate meeting creepy people on the bus. The first time I rode the Lane County bus system, creepy Steve hit on me and asked me if I 'liked to party.' I desperately tried to immerse myself in my book, but he gave me his phone number anyway. I haven't ridden the number 30 to Fred Meyer since. Steve. Steve-o, you creeped the hell out of me. It's embarassing, because I think it's the only time I've ever been hit on. I'm so socially stunted, I have no idea how to react in any situation like that. Today wasn't really similar, but it was just a matter of a guy talking to me for a long time even though I tried to politely discourage him by being absorbed in the paper. I should learn... people can't take a hint. Then there was the big fat playa who asked me if I went to the midnight Star Wars showing while I was on my way to see AOTC for the first time on Thursday. I'm getting to be quite the bus rider, though I get nervous about pulling the "Stop Requested" cord. I never really know when the stop I want is coming up, and I want to give the driver enough time. Ah, my bus adventures aren't interesting, really.

Again I come to my purchasing phobia. I want to buy this particular laptop case. I don't have one for this little computer, and I get nervy carrying it in my backpack sometimes. I like to take my computer to quiet hidey holes to write on my fanfic-y stories. I don't want my brand new computer banged around, not after I spent so much money on it. But I have decided myself now. I am going to buy it, despite the price. But I'm going to have to make sure I have enough money in my checking account, 'cause the one I want is rather expensive. Oh well. And I went and spent a bunch of money on Beatles CDs today, too. Shame on me.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top