eve was framed

04.24.02 @ 5:55 p.m.

I haven't mentioned yet that I live in a hippie haven. Whether this is a good thing or a bad thing I'll leave up to you. There are pros and cons, certainly. Fewer pros for me, since I'm really not interested in drugs. I have no problems with most recreational substances, but I'm not personally interested. I don't know why, but then I don't really question it either. The majority of my close friends feel the same way but we're all cool with each other. It's funny that so many teenagers have a strong interest in the one aspect of the sixties that I don't care for. I digress.

The reason I mention Eugene being such a hippies' paradise is that the biannual ASUO Street Faire. My hair smells of mesquite smoke from the barbeque place and I only walked past it. Nearly every other food vendor is hawking Bangledeshi, Thai, Korean, Afghani, and other foods from Asia and the Indian subcontinent. There's also a burrito booth. Other booths are masses of batik and tie dye and flowing hippie garb. Last fall the air was thick with Nag Champa incense, which I love when it's not being used to cover the pot smell coming from across the hall. I'd like to browse through the clothes booths tomorrow when I have more time. Today I was in a rush to get to the bookstore before it closed, and besides, nearly everyone was closing up for the evening. I doubt I'll buy anything. With a new computer having cut my bank account in half, I can't really afford to spend frivolously. I probably shouldn't have bought the chocolate bar and lemonade at the bookstore even.

Most of today was not all incense and peppermints, though. I had a really lousy morning. I woke up at five having dreamt that I was in a beach house with Jodi playing some sort of video game. It was like Mariokart in planes. Jo went to the bathroom and I watched some TV with the sound off. Glass broke on the TV screen and I heard it break. I turned around and peered through the glass door to the beach house and there was this Tanya Harding looking woman with a crowbar who had broken an outer glass door and was trying to break into the house. She thought the TV's sound was on and used the commercial with breaking glass to cover the sound of her break in. I was frantically trying to dial 911 when I woke up. I dragged myself out of bed at 8 and went to Grammer at 9. Fun fun fun. Identifying conjunctions and adjectives. Then I got to Linguistics. I discovered that I accidentally brought my Shakespeare notebook instead of my Linguistics book. I could make do. BUT THEN we had to have a FUCKING QUIZ. I bombed it completely. A) I have not been studying or paying attention for at least a week or so now and B) I just plain couldn't remember the phonetic symbols he wanted us to use. I want out of this class but nothing doing. I got back to my room at 10:30 or so. I decided I really wanted to go back to sleep, so I did. This time I dreamt first that I was watching TV with my brother, with my head leaning on his shoulder. I was drooling on my pillow in real life, so I dreamt that I drooled on his shirt and was very embarassed, but I couldn't stop myself. THEN I dreamt I was lost on campus without my keys, which meant I could only get in and out of buildings by following people. This girl from high school, Jenny Hulme, was on a balcony and tossed her car keys down to someone and told me to catch a ride with him. The guy was nice, in a creepy sort of way. I ended up in another weird building that was supposed to be a dorm complex with this huge science convention going on in the lobby. My mom and Jodi were there and surprised to see me, but this old woman started scolding me, saying I shouldn't be in there because it wasn't my building. Still no keys. My roommate coming into our room woke me up this time.

So E* came in (in real life, no more dreams) and said "Oh, there's a message." It was my dad on the answering machine saying that the catalog I ordered my computer from wanted me to call an 800 number. I, with my day going the way it was, freaked out, sure that I didn't have enough money in my checking account and that I bounced it. Weird stuff I still haven't quite figured out faced me when I tried to access my account online. Anyway, I called, and turns out they just wanted to verify the order. The guy was very nice and told me they were installing the extra RAM and it'd be in the mail by the end of the day. Phew. I got something I didn't really want for lunch and realized too late that there was something I wanted more available.

Then I went to Comparative Lit, and I tell you what, I saw THE MOST homoerotic version of Christopher Marlowe's play, Edward the Second, in existance. I didn't mind at all, and it was a good allegory, setting the play in modern times and using the gay rights movement with it, but I could just feel the discomfort radiating from my peers. The thing is, I'm still in the high school mind set, and so I'm often slightly shocked when I see movies in class that a public high school wouldn't even DREAM of showing. Not to mention that King Edward II of England died by hot poker up the arse. Anyway.

I also had to present in Italian Film, which wasn't so bad. I was dreading it a little, but it went okay. The guy I was co-presenting with looks a bit like Jodi's boyfriend, Tristan.

And now here I am, with smokey hair, listening to Tommy James and the Shondells and trying to unwind a little. I got a letter from Jodi today, so I should reply. I bought some stationery just for that purpose. Adieu.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top