a brief rant about star wars

04.25.02 @ 4:52 p.m.

Now I'm all nervous and eager. Why? Well, A) I'm waiting on my iBook, which, thanks to my obsessive tracking, I now know is in Ohio, of all places. It's gonna taking FOREVER to get here. I'm also harboring uncertainty about the next Star Wars movie. My plan is to go on the opening day. I am a fanatical Star Wars fan, I really am, though I far prefer the orignal trilogy to Ep. I. I think Jake Lloyd was a horrible casting choice on Lucas' part, and the inclusion of Jar Jar Binks was just a train wreak. I mean, COME ON, GEORGE. Get some sense.

Don't even get me started on the whole *NSYNC debacle. George nearly bowed to his daughters' will by including the boy band as extras, but he had the sense to delete them when the fan pressure threatened to overwhelm him. Now, while George says repeatedly that he does not make movies for the fans, he has to realize that including *NSYNC will alienate FAR more people than it would attract. He made himself a living joke. Legions of boy fans, adult men, and the smattering of women are the lifeblood of Star Wars, and he should know better than to antagonize them. And female fans aren't all attracted to the love story! I am not going to Episode II to see Hayden and Natalie. Far from it. I am going to see Ewan McGregor and Samuel L. Jackson kick some cloned ass. Now, the Jedi lost the Clone Wars and were exterminated shortly thereafter, but you know that Sam ain't goin' down without a fight. And Yoda will weild a lightsaber, too. Fuck the love story. "Jedi are forbidden to love" my ass. That violates just about every other Star Wars novel and points to the eventual extermination of the Jedi by attrition. If Jedi cannot love, Force powers, which clearly carry some genetic componant, would not be passed on to following generations. Luke has powers which make sense considering his powerful father. Leia has nascent powers because she is a Skywalker. Jaina, Jacen, and Anakin Solo have tremendous control over the force because of their heritage. Lucas is feeding a line of bullshit and contradicting nonsense. He approved all the Expanded Universe, the good, bad, and ugly of it. He has to stick with what he authorized. The comic books are filled with stories of great Jedi lovestories from pre-ANH, pre-Empire times. Not to mention the corruption of Boba Fett's life story. They edge around it by saying "Oh, well, that Boba Fett, he's a ruthless bounty hunter. Of course he wouldn't be honest about his past." Funny thing, his past is generally given in third person omniscient. Not as a personal retelling, because Boba Fett (heretofore known as Jaster Mereel, but now all of a sudden, Boba Fett is his real name. Give me a break!) is a reticent figure.

*splutter splutter* This just makes me totally indignant. I can't even be coherent anymore. I'm going back to my X-Wing book.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top