senso

04.23.02 @ 6:02 p.m.

Ah, I just saw the most romantic movie! It's Italian, it's called "Senso" and it was made in 1954. It's about an Italian Contessa, involved in the Italian Resistance to the Austrian occupation... She falls in love with an Austrian officer with dire consequences. I went back and forth about Franz Mahler, the Lieutenant... He seems like he's betraying her again and again, but then he does something to make himself trustworthy... Oh! I'm such a sucker for romance. And this was lovely, truly lovely. That's why I love the A&E version of Pride & Prejudice, it's so wonderfully romantic. Colin Firth is so handsome as a Regancy gentleman, though I don't find myself as attracted to him in ads for Bridget Jones' Diary. When he proposes to Elizabeth...! I just love it.

I saw this movie today because I'm taking an Italian Film class. The first three movies we watched were Fellini movies, and I liked them, but they were a little crazy. Well, I didn't so much like Fellini Satyricon. It was too crazy, but not so bad. But Senso was so nice and normal, and so romantic. I think it's the best movie we've watched yet.

And now I have to ask, why do people spell it "Faire" sometimes? Is it just to annoy me? 'Cause I'm kind of annoyed. The university is having a Street Faire, and then I just saw and ad for a Gem Faire... Too weird for me. Ahh. Whatever. I don't really care that much, but it just came to my attention.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top