quote of the day

04.26.02 @ 2:16 p.m.

The quote of the day is:"I'm gonna drink some fucking wine and read Hemingway." Who said this? Some frat boy type sitting behind me in class. Ha.

Arrgh, I hate it when I oversleep and get a headache and a yucky feeling in my mouth. That happened this morning when I came back from my early classes and crawled back into bed. I wasn't intending to sleep, but rather to snuggle up all warm and daydream/fantasize with my eyes closed for a while. And so for about an hour or so, I laid in my bed, not asleep but playing out a dramatic fanficy scene I had started writing in my Linguistics class. Then my roommate came in and started taking a nap herself, and I ended up falling asleep for real. When I woke up I felt pretty lousy. I didn't wake up until 1, and I hate sleeping until afternoon. Sigh.

I was thinking this morning while I blow dryed my hair... I have a tendency to run the same storylines in my head when I'm bored, but I don't have much inclination to write them down. The one this morning was a pretty common one. I daydream a lot that I've somehow gone back to the sixties, with all my stuff. (The convenient way of doing this transports me while I'm moving all my dorm room stuff, so all my cool stuff is in the car.) All the thought involved is how to tell the Monkees their history, or at least their history in my world. Obviously, I'd being going to the TV parallel universe. It's kind of fun to try and think of what their reactions would be, and it's probably a good thought exercise for me since I want to be a fiction author someday. Now you know my dream :)

It strikes me as mildly disrespectful that the death of Lisa "Left Eye" Lopes is the third headline down behind Weekend Movies and The Bachelor's second season on Yahoo! Entertainment news. She just died last night and she's already third billing? Plus there's a picture of the smashed car. That strikes me as tasteless, but then again, you can easily find pictures of the car James Dean died in. I'm not even a fan and I don't know that celebrities always deserve top billing, but she seems to have been pushed down awfully fast. She is the top headline in the music category, though.

I think it's fucking tragic that The Bachelor drew the audience it did. That's just sad people. I will reluctantly admit that I watched at least part of Who Wants to Marry a MultiMillionaire back in the day. What was that, two years ago? I remember that I LOVED the first Survivor, but I just haven't gotten into the others. I even had it picked from the start that someone from Tagi would win, and I had narrowed it to Richard or Susan pretty quickly. Funny how many people hated them. I saw that they had the tactics, at least Richard did, to win. I don't know. It was so fresh the first time around that I can't imagine it being that good again. Okay. I need to get off my butt now and mail a letter and get some laundry done. I'm down to last few bits of clean laundry. Really. Aargh. I want my new computer. I have too much to do and I'm just too apathetic to do it.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top