oh my fucking god

06.27.05 @ 12:02 a.m.

I love Rick Emerson SO FUCKING MUCH. Tonight was the DVD filming of "Bigger Than Jesus," his stage show. Fucking hell. It was fantastic. I'm so, so glad I went. I think this nerdy boy was trying to flirt with me in line, which maybe isn't too shocking to think of because I was wearing a cleavage-showing shirt and I'm clearly nerdy enough to be all "Rick Emerson, fuck yeah!" and talking about the show and how he got fucked over by the format change. He found me after the show ended and asked me what I thought, then I was a bad person and kind of ditched him in the crowd around the sales table to go get a drink from the water fountain. I kind of liked the other guy we had both been talking to.

I ordered the DVD, and will be glad to see it when it comes out. There's a great bit he does as a guest preacher lecturing against the dangers of Rock. And backwards masking. For someone as rock evangelist as me, and with my own love of classic rock not far from his love of Zeppelin and metal and the like, it was so perfect. I just... understood.

a selection of psychedelic hits from the byrds

06.21.05 @ 12:33 a.m.

I had my first day of what looks to be an incredibly grueling class on Ken Kesey today. We watched a PBS documentary on Kesey and the Pranksters (I think we're going to meet at least one Prankster and Kesey's wife, Faye, maybe even go out to the farm in Pleasant Hill and see Further, the Prankster bus) and whoever produced it sure does like the Byrds. A lot. And spasm-inducing Grateful Dead animations.

Close your eyes, though, and you'd swear you were in a class being taught by Tommy Chong. How perfectly ridiculous and perfectly Eugene is that?

I think Wojcik is going to make me do some kind of extra work to make up for the fact that I've essentially already taken the class I'm in now. It kind of sucks, but at the same time, I want to hear all the things other people contribute, like the EVP woman and the "I live in a haunted house" woman...

...except you just know I'm going to get ridiculously paranoid by being in this class.

thunder rumbling, twice the size...

06.19.05 @ 12:12 a.m.

I spent most of my afternoon watching lightning flash outside my windows and listening to thunder. It was great, and I started wondering when I stopped fearing lightning storms. I am, as you should know if you know me at all, a highly paranoid person, and most things unnerve me at least a little, but today was pretty near relaxing.

The only other thing worth mentioning is that I'm having terrible problems with my saliva glands underneath my ears. All day they've been swollen up and sensitive. Periodically this happens and eating becomes torturous because every time I taste something, my saliva glands go off and they tingle with a painful intensity. I can feel them all swollen up. It's distressing.

sad devotion to ficton

06.18.05 @ 3:14 p.m.

I'm watching the club scenes in A Hard Day's Night and trying to decide which brunette is the heroine of "I Can't Reach You." Maybe Fiona will be in the movie instead of Liz Black (formerly Parks, Jardin, Parkrose, and I've decided her birth name is Parkdale.)

And watching The Wedding Singer on TV last night makes me scheme for Madeline and Simon again.

agony

06.15.05 @ 6:22 p.m.

The more I think about it and the more time I spend in Folklore classes, the more I want to get a Master's in that discipline, maybe even a doctorate. I really love it.

But I'm having a hard time rationalizing it, or even fathoming what that would mean except a lifetime in academia.

outlaw blues

06.14.05 @ 12:27 a.m.

My dad bought me fuckin' Bob Dylan tickets! WHO IS PSYCHED? I AM PSYCHED!

AND... AND... We're going to go see the White Stripes together in August (I don't actually know when Dylan is, but Dad just bought the tickets, like, this morning via presale) and oh man I love my dad.

BOB FUCKING DYLAN. JACK GODDAMN WHITE.

Oh shit, happy (forthcoming) graduation to ME.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top