zzzzzzzzzz

02.27.05 @ 1:09 a.m.

I'm not sure WHAT compells me not to write, but something does. Anxiety over a lack of response from my damn advisor. A very slightly disappointing sighting of the Who Boy: I saw someone I'm fairly sure was him, holding hands with a very short young woman. Ah, so dieth fantasies, long past due. I am surprisingly unaffected, considering the fuss I make. I think I just liked making a fuss, having an object. I have nothing better to do.

I really like the series of Mystery! that's been on for a little while, Inspector Lynley, who is interestingly handsome and an Earl working for the British police. He clashes with his partner, a working class woman who is on, I think, her last chance after several reprimands for insubordination. All in all, pretty interesting. I elected to watch that instead of SNL, which I've been doing a lot lately, leaving off the first half hour in favor of Mystery!.

I'll never fall asleep. I slept from 2 until 7 yesterday afternoon, went to bed again at four in the morning, and didn't wake up until at least one, though I actually woke and fell back asleep several times. When I sleep like that, I dip in and out of very vivid dreams, which is really intriguing, maybe because I remember more of them that way. This morning/afternoon's dreams included a Dumbrella dream (I don't remember the details except that it was Polka and one of the gentlemen of Dumbrella, I've forgotten who but I did know at one point), a dream that started out as shopping with my family for DVDs and ended up as being "The Long Walk in a high end grocery store", and a sex dream that I am modest enough not to go into detail about. I think I only lacked something horrifying or scary to cross the entire range of dreams. Anyway, add on top of all this sleep the absurd amount of caffine I just consumed, and you have something of an all-nighter just waiting to happen.

I feel like I can't sleep enough, lately. That is a trifle worrying.

One goal for this weekend (one that looks like it won't be satisfied, since I've completed none of my sub-goals today) is to start work on an eight goddamn page research paper that my Early Tudor England professor wants. Five secondary sources, he says. What the hell. I'm not a writer of research papers (except that Brigid of Ireland one, I enjoyed that one), and I don't know what I need to look for if I'm supposed to be comparing two accounts of Sir Thomas More's trial and execution. I've gone as far as trying to find Henry VIII's Act of Supremacy, Act of Succession, and the Treasons Act, all of 1534. They are bloody hard to find, except the Act of Supremacy. I may have found them, I need to look a little harder. I also need to read the two accounts I'm supposed to be comparing.

Oh! I got my "Not a Doctor" shirt from Topatoco (Jeffery Rowland's store; he is the man behind WIGU and Magical Adventures in Space and Overcompensating), and I'm pretty happy with it. I just need to ask myself if I want to make the transition from mostly wearing unisex style shirts to wearing girl-cut shirts. I feel like I've got an uncomfortable amount of my arm exposed in the NaD shirt. It's not uncomfortably tight, but clingy. This is something I need to consider, as I plan to order a "Bears will eat you" shirt from Scary Go Round eventually.

Speaking of consumerism and saving up for things, I'm beginning to wonder if my laptop has just reached the end of the road (the battery is no good, a new one is $100+, I still have not gotten the keyboard fixed, there are lots of places that are just wearing out) and if I should start laying aside money for the purchase of a minimac. For one thing, this computer doesn't have the processing power projected for Sims 2 for Mac, and goddamn do I ever want that. I've started playing the Sims again, actually. The last couple of days have been intense work on my large Pride and Prejudice neighborhood (Darcy and Wickham won't hate each other, how irritating), which also has the houses from my old Monkees neighborhood for some reason. Today I deliberately started several fires in order to kill the Torks. Then I raized their house and build a nicer one for the gentleman who is eventually destined to court Georgiana Darcy and hope the Torks start haunting soon. I wonder what happens when a pet dies? Do they have ghosts? I know I've made Zombie Poodle before. We shall see, we shall see.

This girl on Austin City Limits, whose name I forget though it was familiar, I can objectively say yes, she does have a good voice and talent, but she leaves me just completely and utterly unmoved. I have no desire to listen.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top