such well laid plans as these

02.07.05 @ 10:36 a.m.

Last night I was up late (nearly four) reading Erasmus and by the time I went to sleep, I decided that I would get up, go take my Early Tudor England midterm, and come back to sleep deliciously through the early afternoon and then write my Milton paper. I did not realize that this would clash with my discovery last night of OH MY GOD I LOVE TEA. Well, I've always liked iced teas and Starbucks lured me into enjoying iced tea made from properly brewed black tea instead of the usual premade stuff. Last night I finally made a cup of English Breakfast, having bought a box of teabags a couple of months ago. With lemon and sugar (I magically found the perfect proportions, which eluded me before), ohhhhh, wonderful. So, the point here is that I made a huge-ass cup of tea to take with me to school so I wouldn't crash in the middle of the test and start, you know, drooling and snoring all over the green book. I did not think about the fact that I would still be pretty alert when I got home from class, although I might be feeling some of the ol' lethargy creeping back over me.

I wrote really long paragraph as all one sentence in the course of that test. Then I added an apology to the end and said I was probably reading too much Milton, who has a tendency toward the run-on sentence. The first 29 lines of Paradise Lost are all one sentence.

Last week, I called my parents the day after the Modest Mouse concert. My dad had just watched them on Austin City Limits earlier in the week, and he described them as "pretty hypnotic, you know?" I think I do know. I think that's a not inapt description. Especially live.

Book things:

I can feel myself starting to resist Wizard and Glass again, and yet I'm on a little bit of a Stephen King kick. Er, maybe I should say a Richard Bachman kick. I started rereading Rage in between bouts of trying to tackle Erasmus (my brain needed the breaks, believe me), which is okay but not as good as I remembered, and I'm actually kind of dying to reread The Long Walk. I'm so turning into Nate. (He is a boy I went to elementary school with. In sixth grade, he started dying his hair all kinds of colors and really getting into Green Day. In seventh grade, he gave a presentation on The Long Walk that Martha and I still remember. Then he left. I think he was starting to fall apart a little, or at least went through a rough patch serious enough that we've hardly seen him since.)

They've made a movie of Sahara, one of the quite good Clive Cussler books. I have a complaint (not just that any movie is unlikely to live up to the book, even an adventure book, even by an author who disappoints me with his new work now): MATTHEW MCCONAUGHEY IS NOT AND NEVER WILL BE DIRK PITT. Dirk Pitt is fucking DARK, both in coloration and in character. Fucking romantic comedy protagonists do not good adventurers make. I get a feeling that maybe they're trying to turn Pitt into a franchise, like James Bond. I suppose it's good that they picked this one, instead of the so-awful-I-couldn't-read-more-than-a-few-pages tragedy that is Trojan Odyssey. BAD STUFF, CLIVE. GET THEE A FUCKING EDITOR. The old ones, Sahara, Iceberg, Raise the Titanic!, and such still have a place in my heart. Shockwave made me cry and distrust the diamond industry. I don't understand how any woman can think that diamond = love. They're really common and... well... not that pretty. (For some reason I'm suppressing the urge to give away the big twist of Sahara, provided it's the same as in the book. Cussler is full of twists that alter history... sometimes he keeps the continuity in his books, but sometimes not. I think he's written that Pitt raised the Titanic in one piece and also the reality that it broke apart as it sank.)

Dang, now I want to read classic Dirk Pitt, too. Bad girl, you have a paper to write today, not that it will probably stop you from finishing Rage.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top