after some delay, i catch up a little

07.26.04 @ 10:14 p.m.

OMG! Ad for CSI:NY featuring "Baba O'Riley"! CSI comes through for me again!

This is very frustrating; I have a lot to say and my life has actually been somewhat eventful, but I can't get in the groove to write. Maybe I'll get something down now. I still intend to type up the California stuff. Maybe tomorrow. I did, after all, intend to work on it today. Meh.

Ooookay. One day last week I got to work to find an egg smashed on the sidewalk out front and Boss Gary and the Daycamp Lady out front. Some kids had been spotted up on the roof moments before, they told me, and Gary was about to go in and call the police and the district. I was set to scrubbing up the egg. Gary, I saw, nabbed their bikes while they were up on the roof and locked them in the school. They came back with an older brother, demanding the bikes, but Gary was not intimidated. He told them to come back with a parent. The cops came, three cars worth, and went looking for Gary to find out what went down. They told him that the bikes were "found property" and he could do what he damn well pleased with them. I was informed that they boys had peed against one of the doors and guess what!? I got to go splash bleach all over it, yaaaaay. Oh, isn't work fun? Eventually they did return with their mom, and boy, was she pissed at them. I listened discreetly from a classroom while they talked at length out in the hall.

Friday and Saturday were absurdly, absurdly hot. More than 100� worth of hot. Friday I was lucky enough to work in an air conditioned building, though it was hard to sleep. On Saturday, we FINALLY went to see Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. I agreed with a lot of the criticisms I saw. I have no problem with the Ron/Hermoine romance budding/blooming, though most of the people I talk to would like to see Harry with Hermione. Neville is really growing up, isn't he? I liked him in the last book, I like his very Anglo look in the movies. So... British. (I'm such a silly anglophile.) Afterwards, I drove Mom all around Cedar Mill and Bethany, running errands and enjoying an air conditioned car.

On Sunday, I drove down to Eugene to say goodbye to Ena. She's leaving for Memphis on Friday and there was no way I'd see her after the weekend, since I have to work. We hung out, I gave her four mix CDs I had made the night before, painfully whittling it down to five hours rather than six. I am a music geek. We talked, had pizza, talked about getting the utilities changed. Guh. I met with a potential roommate, Shannon, whereas the girl I quite like talking to on the phone totally stood me up on a house-viewing. I'm leaning toward the Chicago girl, partly because I worry that she won't have a place to go when she arrives in town. I know I maybe ought to get more touchy feely or emotional about not seeing Ena again for a long time, and I know I'll miss her, but I think it hasn't sunk in as yet. I'm not going to force myself into emotion.

Maximum R&B, by the way, is pretty fuckin' awesome. Many of the songs I thought I already had, I don't. "Remix," for one thing, means that some of the songs are mixed blends of album and live versions. For example, "A Quick One While He's Away" is the version off the A Quick One album up until I think "Dang, Dang, Dang," where it turns (obviously, by the sound of the stomping feet that raises the energy of the Rock and Roll Circus version) to a live version, but NOT the R&R Circus. I don't know what version it is. I have to read the great big liner notes book that came with the box set.

Sleep time, I have to work in the morning (goddamnit).

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top