relay

02.10.04 @ 10:52 p.m.

Ooooh my. Sometimes I think there is nothing better than endorophines. I played guitar today for the first time in weeks, you see. Played hard, played it out of tune, tuned it, and played it back out again. It was WONDERFUL. I played "Circle Sky" from the Monkees movie Head, from the great live scene intercut with footage from Vietnam, and "Stepping Stone," each several times over. It seems like there are some things you don't forget. Muscle memory and all that. "Stepping Stone" kept flowing over and over again and it was... I don't know. I get this feeling sometime, of restlessness and pent up energy and... I don't know what to do with myself. Today it was like... building and flowing out at the same time. I made a stab at "Dogs," too, but it's harder than it looks. I started with it and my acoustic, but I put them both aside for familiar things played through heavy overdive in my amp. And my headphones. When I was done I just felt so satisfied and happy. That same kind of rush from exercising. Makes me think I need to pick up my lovely little guitar more often. I wonder if it needs a name. Or if it's a he or a she.

I wonder why I like giving names to inanimate objects and plants. (Basil died, Evelyn died, I think it would take nuclear winter to kill Neville, which I guess is why he's a good plant for me.)

And of course, I had intended to spend this evening catching up on my backlog of homework, especially my Italian homework. A lot of times, I wish I could just skip out on it, but with Enrico as the teacher, I'm enjoying it a lot more than any other term. I'm also feeling more fluent and confident with the language, though I think I'd still flounder about a bit if he took the subtitles off Pane e Tulipani like Pelin did last term. My listening comprehension always needs work.

In Classics we read about a murder trial where a man killed the supposed lover of his wife. Interesting thing about fourth century BCE law in Athens: A killing committed during a sporting contest, on the side of a highway, or of an adulterer caught in the act by a close relative of the woman (husband, brother, son, father) would not be prosecuted. Now, there was no law AGAINST adultery, but an adulterer caught in the act could be killed by his discoverer or executed by the state. The woman would lose all her social priviledges and her husband, as divorce was compulsory in such cases. This also applies to "concubines kept for the begetting of legitimate children." Rape, though, rape of a man or boy or woman (but boys are mostly mentioned in the law) is punishable by a FINE. Why? Well. A rapist is loathed by his victim, but a seduced woman is liable to be under the power of her seducer and he might therefore have control over her family and basically threaten the structure of Greek life.

Economics is slowly destroying me. Or at least killing my soul. I have yet another reason to dislike my teacher... he can't pronounce the Native American county names of this state. "Mult-uh-nomah county..." I was horrified. Multnomah. MULTNOMAH. Where do you get this extra syllable, you horrible, horrible man? You fucking cheapskate, based on the stories you tell the class, and perpetrator of the crime of naming a girl "Madison." (I hate fad names. Hate hate hate.) Grr. I wrote some half-decent stuff for "I Can't Reach You," a couple of paragraphs anyway, maybe a page, that hints at things to come with two minor characters. I want to rewrite "Riverwood" or finish "Traveler," but I don't even have time to read the book I want to read. (Hellfire, a Jerry Lee Lewis biography that Professor Awesome recommended when he recommended Moon.) Anyway, my point is that Econ is fucking boring.

I spent $3 on iTunes last night. A dialogue clip of Townshend and two Who songs: "Relay," a single I don't have on any compliations, and "The Last Time," one of the two Stones covers from the very brief protest over Mick and Keith's drug arrests in '67. The other is "Under My Thumb" and I have that on the album of unreleased stuff, Odds & Sods. Fun, fun. And now I get to make a mix for Candace, which I anticipate. I already started assembling clips of songs I know she doesn't have, and I have to load a CD or two into my computer yet. I like planning mixes. Yesterday's offer still stands.

With my spate of bus-missing yesterday, I realize now I did something I probably shouldn't have. The bus I missed at 6:30 made me very upset and I think I pretty much shouted "FUCK!" in my very quiet neighborhood. My very quiet neighborhood full of little old ladies. And that elementary school a block and a half away. Heh. Whoops. I need to get a handle on the swearing, I think. Like that will happen.

And, sadly, we've lost MTV2. *Cry cry* It's been replaced by snowy, black and white NBC. So now there are two channels of NBC, neither of which is much good (51, which used to be MTV2, does not broadcast NBC as well as it did MTV2). MTV2 made up for the general poor quality of NBC. Now what consolation do I have?

I guess I could watch less TV.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top