young man blues

01.29.04 @ 11:43 p.m.

I'm using Ena's computer, which always feels odd. Also, the generic, non-variable width font is kind of jaunty, in that the letters tend to vary in height. It's like being seasick, or one of those horrible people that WrItE wItH EvErY oTheR LeTtEr or so capitalized. I HATE those people. I really do.

It's windy like you wouldn't believe, but then it doesn't surprise me, because I thought about the last time it was windy like this and all the windows in the dorms rattled and made the doors on the outer side of the hall rattle with the changing pressure. I remember not being able to sleep and worrying about that because I had a test the next day in Rock History. I remember the Who Boy almost sat by me until his friends called him away and I mentally cursed them.

It's raining now, too. Ena and I are talking about the weather while I write, and I just related that Who Boy anecdote to her, which made her laugh. It looks like we have a third roommate, at least for a month and a half. Her name is Bonnie, and she's another Taiwanese student. I'm surrounded by people who are speaking a language I don't understand and you can imagine just how comfortable that feels. But it's okay. It's only temporary for one thing, it means I pay less rent next month (what shall I do with an extra $150? hmmm), and we're deceiving Fuckwit Landlord, which is always fun. Delightful, really.

Jodi's coming tomorrow and I kind of wish I hadn't agreed to her coming. I hope she leaves on Saturday so I can get SOME homework done, but who the hell knows. I was hoping Andrew would come tomorrow, since he asked if it was okay if he 'could crash' here on the way back from a meeting of some sort. But now it looks like not, because two of his friends/coworkers are travelling with him and one has places to be on Saturday morning. Which is probably just as well with Bonnie here, because now we don't have a spare room, we have Bonnie's room. Ena and I talked about making it a music room, me putting my guitar in there, since my own room is so small. Comparitively. I think it's bigger than the dorm room we shared for two years, but still, it's smaller than the other bedrooms in the house. Ena was going to put her viola in there, which she hasn't played in a long time. I think she said it was starting to make her feel guilty, but I can't remember very well.

My memory is just plain failing me all the time lately. My other complaint is that I'm sleeping all the time. I can't figure it out. I'm tired and want to go to sleep now, which actually does make sense because it's later than I thought, but still, I didn't get up until 11:30 this morning. This is craziness. On a normal day I would have gotten up at 8 or 8:30 and I would still be wide awake now. I wish I could just go to sleep but I need to write some reasons why Molise, Italy is an awesome place to be. La Festa di Jelsi, specifically, where they make sculptures out of wheat and celebrate St. Anne, who apparently protected their town against an earthquake once.

Those crazy Italians.

I hereby resolve (in writing!) to get up tomorrow and work on it then, because I'm just plain tired. Man, I hope I find the sound of rain against glass soothing, because I'm definately going to be falling asleep to it.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top