dr. jimmy

01.23.04 @ 7:15 p.m.

Whoa. Okay. I'm getting progressively more annoyed with Ena because she said "Oh, let's have dinner together and watch the movie!" Those were the fucking plans. She is not home, and I... don't know what to say.

The "whoa" comes in here: to stave off the anger (or use it) I've been running through most of the chord progressions I know and love. I got surprisingly agressive on a relatively low key song, "Listen to the Band" (by Mike Nesmith, best version during his Monkees years featuring horns and leslied organ). I looked down at my hand at the end of the song, and to my surprise, I had snapped the end right off the light pick I was using and didn't even notice. I'm a little surprised at myself, but I'm also kind of sad because I have fifty million medium picks and only two lights. (I like to use the lights on rhythm only stuff and "Pinball Wizard.")

I don't know why a broken pick astonishes me, especially since it's one of the handful I stole from my dad last weekend, which means they're all likely old. Still, last time I broke a pick playing, I noticed.

Oh dear me. I went to the library today, and I think I found the best section ever. Music biography. It was wonderful. There was too much to choose from! I got a book on the stories behind Beatles songs, anecdotes about the Rolling Stones that I rather absurdly chose because unlike most of the others, the photo on the front wasn't from the '80s. They also have Pete Townshend's biography, which I never finished reading, and a copy of Moon, oddly enough. The last thing I checked out (apart from the Beatles and Rolling Stones books) was a copy of Hellfire, a Jerry Lee Lewis bio my fantastic Brit professor recommended to me.

Oh yeah, and I got Who's Serious, symphonic renditions of several Who songs. It's interesting, but I'm not as enthused about it as I originally was. Listening to the classical version of "Dr. Jimmy" made me put on Quadrophenia while I did yet more dishes, which also have me annoyed. Apparently I'm the only one who will do dishes.

Still not home, and we made fucking plans to watch a three hour movie. I don't even know if I want to watch it with her, what with the "What's going to happen to him?" habit, but this is just goddamn rude.

I swear too much when I'm alone.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top