[insert sappy christmas song title here while I sneak off to listen to the clash]

12.24.03 @ 6:52 p.m.

I don't know why I'm writing right now, really. I don't have a lot to say. I suppose I'm just killing time until my brother and sister-in-law arrive for Christmas eve proper. I think I would have been happier if I could have gone to the big party at Andrew's, but that was not to be.

Actually, I've spent massive amounts of the evening listening to the Clash and reading the top 30 Clash songs list complied by Uncut magazine. I love the Clash more and more, though I'm a bit abashed to realize that I find Joe Strummer almost unintelligible until I read over the lyrics. How many times have I listened to "(White Man in) Hammersmith Palais" and "Complete Control" without really comprehending? Now, I could probably sing along to every song on London Calling but The Clash is a different story. It took a long time for me to get the rhyme at the end of "Clash City Rockers." Anyway, I sit here and read about these songs I listen to frequently and lyrics are referenced and I just kind of go "What the hell?" and have to go listen over again.

Then we have the multiple references/comparisons to the Who, which just put me in music-geek overload.

And I suppose it's telling that while everyone else is overdosing on syrupy Christmas music (which, this year, I just cannot take, not even in the smallest amounts), I'm up on the couch reading a music magazine, dressed all in black, and listening to The Clash and my edited copy of The Story of the Clash over and over. And a touch of London Calling. I made a version of SotC without any songs from the two albums I have, which reduces it down to a single disc.

Hmm. I see a review of the Byrds' Sweetheart of the Rodeo on the open page of my magazine. That's one I took note of in class last year.

Oh good lord. I smell pizza and I am starving, so that's enough out of me

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top