slow vacation days

12.15.03 @ 10:32 p.m.

Since I have nothing much to say, I'll let it pile up for a couple of days and then post.

SUNDAY, 12/14: The thing that struck me as very odd indeed was that my dad went to church with my mom this morning. Church. Catholic church. My father is not Catholic. He's kind of got a do-it-yourself approach to religion and spirituality that mostly comes out as drunken attempted philosophy or insane attempts to pin you into personality types. He must be seriously lonely for some time with Mom (who is never home anyway) to be goin' to church now. It's crazy and slightly alarming.

I had magnificent dreams this morning, though. This would be after getting up, bemusedly watching my dressed-up parents leave for church, and crawling back into bed to sleep until I got a headache and the fire went out. Fantastic dreams about the Who Boy, no less. This may well be why I've been rather chipper today. Good dreams always make me extremely happy all day long. A couple of nights ago I had a rather scary dream that a psychic told me I had ghosts clustered around me at all times, which was just freaky. I had a really hard time going back to sleep, and it wasn't aided by my dog pulling a Lassie act on me when I got up to use the bathroom that I totally didn't understand. I still have no idea what was going on with that.

MONDAY 12/15:

Today we went on a fruitless search for a Christmas tree. Not that we put tons of effort into it. Dad and I drove past our intended tree farm (the owner's mother takes my grandma out shopping on a weekly basis, so we figure they deserve our custom) but it was closed, so we went to WinCo. What a magic, adventuresome day. It was closed as we passed on our way back, too, but we were too lazy to go to another farm looking.

Anyway, today was Mom's birthday, so my day was filled with cake baking and decorating. And present wrapping. Personally, I find cake mixes and icing with those little chocolate chips in it disguisting. But I was not the one to make the purchasing decisions. We had the party earlier tonight and Grandma came over for dinner. Finally seeing her alieviates some of my guilt over not going over to visit earlier. Ah well.

What pisses me off no end is that my uncle and aunt decided to invite us over for the yearly combined birthday/Christmas dinner at their house... on my birthday. Fuck. Like I want to go to goddamn Oak Grove on my birthday. It kind of compounds the vague disappointment I have that Andrew and Martha aren't going to be around that day, either. So not only am I not spending my birthday with my best friends (I guess I've been spoiled the last two years), but I have to deal with family obligations, too. Bastards. If they were around, I could weasel my way out of the damn dinner by having previous plans.

Maybe I'm just sick and tired of being lonely. Being around my family helps. Hanging out with Dad and listening to Rick Emerson all afternoon was fun. But I'm still pretty dissatisfied.

Or maybe I'm just feeling the comedown of yesterday's bizarre giddiness. Who knows. More days of video game and novel (I'm currently reading Valhalla Rising by Clive Cussler, a slight nostalgia trip as I used to read Dirk Pitt books when I was younger) punctuated boredom yet to come.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top